Report: Executive Committee - May 14, 2020 Special Meeting

Via Virtual Meeting


To the Governing Council,
University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a special meeting on Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 3:45 p.m. in a virtual meeting room, with the following members present:

Claire M. C. Kennedy, Chair; N. Jane Pepino, Vice-Chair; Meric S. Gertler, President; Catherine Bragg; Janet Ecker; Avrum I. Gotlieb;
Sarosh Jamal; Ernest Lam; Mark Lautens; Mark H. Rowswell; W. Keith Thomas; Laurent-Philippe Veilleux

Apefa Adjivon; Bruce Winter

Non-Voting Member:
Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council

Anwar Kazimi, Secretary, Executive Committee

In Attendance:
Preet Banerjee, Chair, UTSC Campus Council and Member of the Governing Council
Mohan Matthen, Chair, UTM Campus Council and Member of the Governing Council
Andrew Szende, Chair, University Affairs Board and Member of the Governing Council

Pursuant to section 28 (e) and 38 of By-Law Number 2,
consideration of item 1 took place in camera.

The meeting was held in Closed Session.

The Chair welcomed the attendees to the meeting.

The Committee moved In Camera.

  1. (a) Senior Appointment: Appointment of Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga

    On motion duly moved, seconded and carried


    THAT the following recommendation be endorsed and forwarded to the Governing Council for approval: 

    THAT Professor Alexandra Gillespie be appointed as Vice-President, University of Toronto, concurrent with her appointment as Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga (subject to the approval of the Agenda Committee), effective July 1, 2020 to December 31, 2025 (including six months of administrative leave). 

    THAT, pursuant to section 38 of By-Law Number 2, the Governing Council consider the proposed appointment in camera. 

The Committee returned to closed session

The meeting adjourned at 3:55 p.m.

May 27, 2020