Committee for Honorary Degrees

The Committee for Honorary Degrees is responsible for recommending to the Governing Council the conferral of honorary degrees upon individuals whose accomplishments are of such excellence that they provide inspiration and leadership to the graduates of the University, and who, by their presence, bring honour and distinction to the institution.

In light of the fact that the June 2020 in-person Convocation ceremonies were cancelled as a result of the restrictions in place due to COVID-19,the recognition of the 2020 honorary degree recipients has been postponed until June 2021 (provided that we are able to have in-person ceremonies at that time). As such, we will not be seeking nominations for 2021.

FAQ re Nominations

Read the FAQs on nominating a University of Toronto honorary degree recipient.

Update on Honorary Degree Process - 2021

Honorary Degree Recipients

U of T to confer honorary degrees on 15 academic, business and community leaders.