Report: College of Electors - October 30, 2023

Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, 2nd floor


Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Monday, October 30, 2023, at 5:00 p.m., in the Council Chamber:

PRESENT: Candice Jay, (UTAA) (Chair), Tom Woods (Vice-Chair), Mohammed Amin, Brad Beveridge, Jennifer Boucher, Dan Bowyer, George Buldo, Arun Channan, Doris Chee, Sofiya Datsyuk, Eileen de Villa, Vidia Dhanraj, Ernesto Diaz Lozano Patino, David Drew, Althea Fernandes, Jing Fu, Sandra Griffiths, Shauna Gundy, Andrea Koop, Tamara Kronis, Nakia Lee-Foon, Idas Levato, David McKnight, Andria Minicucci, Asif Mohammed, Frid Mughal, Eric Noble, Ennio Palombizio, Nick Pantaleo, Jamie Philip, David Plant, Naraindra Prashad, Maina Rambali, Christophe Shammas, Rohit Singla, Milomir Strbac, KimEjia Taipaleemaki, Gina Valle, Terese Weisberg, Jinzi Zheng

REGRETS: Omar Bitar, Sofiya Datsyuk, Eileen de Villa, Jodeme Goldhar, Evie Jesin, Joy Richards, Sheila Ritcey, Erin Rud-Thompson, Connie Sellors, Lisa Taillefer, Robin Whiffen, Steve Williams

SECRETARIAT: Anwar Kazimi, Secretary, College of Electors

IN ATTENDANCE: Anna Kennedy, Chair of Governing Council, Professor Meric Gertler, President, University of Toronto, Corwin Cambray, President, University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA) [all were in attendance for item 2]


  1. Chair’s Remarks and Orientation

    The Chair welcomed members to the meeting. The Chair also welcomed Ms Anna Kennedy, Chair of the Governing Council, President Meric Gertler, and Mr. Corwin Cambray, President-, University of Toronto Alumni Association, specifically to address the College on the attributes and requirements for alumni governors for 2024.

    The College moved In Camera.   
  2. Attributes and Requirements for Alumni Governors for 2024

    The Chair noted that two (2) seats would need to be filled as of June 30, 2024.  She reported that as part of a preliminary discussion of the attributes and also on the requirements most in need for 2024, the Chair of the Governing Council, the President and UTAA President had met with the COE Executive Committee on October 12th

    The College received comments from the Chair of the Governing Council, the President and UTAA President. 

    Following an extensive discussion by members, it was agreed that the following attributes would be highlighted in the 2024 Call for Nominations for Alumni Governors and there was a particular interest in recruiting alumni who demonstrated the following attributes:  

    Industry experience in:
  • Risk management including reputational risk; financial services: audit, budget, investments
  • Relevant fields such as real estate, capital projects, city building
  • Working with various levels of government, and public/private partnerships
  • International experience and/or exposure

    Knowledge and skills in:
  • Governance in complex organizations in a leadership role
  • Consensus building, maintaining an open mindset, creativity, and adaptability to changing circumstances
  • Human resources and/or senior leadership succession planning
  • Mental health, as a critical factor in the well-being of university life and society

    A robust volunteer service commitment demonstrated through:
  • Active and passionate volunteer activity on behalf of the University
  • Good knowledge of the University’s three campuses
  • A strong community presence and networks

    Have an interest in:
  • Advocating for post-secondary education, internally and externally
  • Shaping the student experience and promoting student success
  • Championing the University as a preeminent teaching and research institution
  1. Alumni Governor Election Process

    Members discussed the Alumni Governor election process and reviewed the draft 2024 Alumni Governor Nomination Form that contained minor revisions from the previous year.  

    The Chair and Vice-Chair reviewed the communications plan, which would be implemented with the assistance of the Division of University Advancement to promote the call for nominations for two alumni members of Governing Council. 

    College Members were asked to contact their respective university alumni affairs representatives to discuss further dissemination of the Call for Nominations – the Secretary would provide the necessary contact and draft content to Members. 
  2. Election of the 2023-24 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors

    Brad Beveridge, KimEija Taipleenmäki, and Milomir Strbac were elected to the 2023-2024 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) of the College of Electors.

    The College returned to open session.

  3. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – October 3, 2023

    On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

    The minutes of the meeting of October 3, 2023 were approved.
  4. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

    There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

  5. Date of Next Meeting

    The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Monday, January 22, 2024, 5:00 – 7:00 p.m.
  6. Other Business

    Some members had attended the meeting of the Governing Council that was held on October 26th, and they shared with the College their perspectives on that meeting. The Chair provided an update on activities related to the UTAA.

The meeting adjourned at 6:05 p.m.

October 30, 2023