Report: Governing Council - September 06, 2023

Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall



MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL held on Wednesday, September 6, 2023, 9:00 a.m., in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

PRESENT: Anna Kennedy (Chair), Meric S. Gertler, (President), Cheryl Regehr (Provost), Sharleen Ahmed, Glen W. Bandiera, Vikram Chadalawada, Janet Cloud, Robert Cooper, Ann Curran, Sotirios Damouras, Ramy Elitzur, Alexandra Gillespie, Mathangi (Indi) Gopinathan, Paul Huyer, Sarosh Jamal, Mark Lautens, Nelson Lee, Ron Levi, Scott MacKendrick, Brian Madden, Rajiv Mathur, Doug McDougall, Joanne McNamara, Eha Naylor, Andrew Peterson, Firdaus Sadid, Grace Ann Westcott, Geeta Yadav

Sheree Drummond (Secretary of the Governing Council)

REGRETS: Rose M. Patten (Chancellor), Soban Atique, Amanda Bartley, K. Sonu Gaind, Sandra Hanington, Maureen Harquail, Dveeta Lal, Sameer Lal, Ernest Lam, Kikelomo Lawal, Seyedreza Massoum, Danielle Skipp, Nhung Tuyet Tran, Veronica Marie Wadey, Mary-Agnes Wilson, David W. Zingg

In Attendance:
Barbara Fallon (Associate Vice-President, Research), David Palmer (Vice-President, Advancement), Christine Szustaczk (Vice-President, Communications), Randy Boyagoda (Vice-Provost, Faculty & Academic Life), Sandy Welsh (Vice-Provost, Students), Irena Creed (Vice-Principal, Research & Innovation, UTSC), Catherine Riddell (Assistant Vice-President, Communications), Archana Sridhar (Assistant Provost), Angelique Saweczko (University Registrar), Luke Barber (Acting Chief Operations Officer), Dave Lehto (Chief University Planning, Design & Construction), Elizabeth Cragg (Director, Office of the Vice President, Operations & Real Estate Partnerships), Tom Coyle (Vice-Dean of Undergraduate Studies, FASE), Nadina Jamison (Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the President), Ariella Lukach (Director, Office of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation, UTSC), Eric Noble (Member, College of Electors)

Anwar Kazimi, Emma Thacker (Recording Secretary of the Governing Council)


  1. Chair’s Remarks

    The Chair welcomed members and guests to the first meeting of the Governing Council for the 2023-24 governance year. She offered a special welcome to the new governors and thanked them for their willingness to serve the University. The Chair noted that the Vice-Chair had sent regrets, and she welcomed Emma Thacker, the new recording secretary.

    The Chair shared with members that she had received a speaking request which was declined. The request was from a non-member and on a matter not on the day's agenda.

    The Chair also marked the passing of Joan Randall, a former Chair of the Governing Council (1988-89). She noted Ms Randall’s extensive service and dedication to the University, for which she had been received an Honorary Degree in 1995. She advised that in memory of Ms Randall, the University of Toronto flag at Simcoe Hall would fly at half-mast for the day.
  2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting of the Governing Council

    The minutes of the previous meeting for June 27, 2023 meeting were approved.
  3. Reports for Information

    Members received the following reports for information:
  1. Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority

    The Chair informed members that, on June 27, 2023, the Council had approved the annual delegation of authority to the President and Chair to act on behalf of the Governing Council during the summer months. The Chair advised members that one matter was approved under Summer Executive Authority – the appointment of Professor Patricia Houston as Interim Vice-Provost, Relations with Healthcare Institutions. There were no questions from members.

  2. Report Number 544 of the Executive Committee (June 27, 2023)

    The report was received by the Governing Council for information. There were no questions from members.
  1. Date of the Next Meeting – Thursday, October 27, 2023 at 4:30 p.m.

    The Chair advised members that the next Governing Council meeting (Cycle 1) was scheduled for Thursday, October 27, 2023 at 4:30 p.m. and that it would be held in-person in the Council Chamber.
  2. Question Period

    There were no questions from members.
  3. Other Business

    There were no items of other business.

The meeting adjourned at 9:06 a.m.

September 7, 2023