Report: College of Electors - November 01, 2022

Via Virtual Meeting room


Minutes of the College of Electors virtual meeting held on Tuesday, November 1, 2022 at 5:00 p.m.

Candice Jay, (UTAA) (Chair), Mark Surchin (Law) (Vice-Chair), Jehan Adam, Mohammad Amin, Manny Bettencourt, Brad Beveridge, Omar Bitar, George Buldo, Arun Channan, Doris Chee, Vidia Dhanraj, Ernesto Diaz Lozano Patino, David Drew, Althea Fernandes, Chris Girard, Jodeme Goldhar, Sandra Griffiths, Eve Leung, Idas Levato, John Paul Lotesto, Sofya Malik, Andria Minicucci, Nick Pantaleo, Jamie Phillip, David Plant, Joy Richards, Sheila Ritcey, Connie Sellors, Cindy Sinclair, KimEija Taipaleenmaki, Gina Valle, Terese Weisberg, Robin Whiffen, Tom Woods

Eileen de Villa, Imre Sakura Gams, Evie Jesin, Idas Mary Elvira Levato, Julia Prato, Larissa Rado, Erin Rud-Thompson, Srithas Sitharsana, Lisa Taillefer, Harlan Tufford, Steve Williams, Theresa Wright 

Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council
Anwar Kazimi, Secretary, College of Electors

Janet Ecker, Chair of the Governing Council
Professor Meric Gertler, President, University of Toronto
Corwin Cambray, President-elect, University of Toronto Alumni Association

  1. Chair’s Remarks and Orientation

    The Chair welcomed members to the meeting. The Chair also welcomed Ms Janet Ecker, Chair of the Governing Council, President Meric Gertler, and Mr. Corwin Cambray, President-elect, University of Toronto Alumni Association, who had joined the virtual meeting, specifically to address the College on the attributes and requirements for alumni governors for 2023; and Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council. 

    The College moved In Camera.

  2. Attributes and Requirements for Alumni Governors 2023

    The Chair noted that three (3) seats would need to be filled as of June 30, 2023.  She reported that as part of a preliminary discussion of the attributes and also on the requirements most in need for 2023, the Chair of the Governing Council, the President and UTAA President had met with the COE Executive Committee on Thursday, October 6th.

    The College received comments from the Chair of the Governing Council, the President and UTAA President.

    Following an extensive discussion by members, it was agreed that the following attributes would be highlighted in the 2023 Call for Nominations for Alumni Governors and there was a particular interest in recruiting alumni who demonstrated the following attributes:

  • Engaging and persuasive communicators with consensus-building skills and good judgment; 
  • Creative, strategic and critical thinkers, with emerging ideas and technologies to reimagine the University of the future; 
  • Can act as dedicated advocates for post-secondary education and its value including internal and external advocacy on behalf of the University;  
  • Can commit time and energy as a volunteer to actively participate (in person) and master the complexity of the University; with a genuine interest in championing its evolution as a preeminent teaching and research institution; 
  • Have an interest in shaping and guiding the changing student experience including promoting student success;  
  • Have demonstrated insight into mental health as a critical factor, in the well-being of university life and the well-being of society; 
  • Have demonstrated governance experience in large and complex organizations, particularly in a leadership role and also those who have experience in dealing with various levels of government; 
  • Have demonstrated a robust volunteer service commitment including having already been an active and passionate volunteer on behalf of the University with a good foundation of knowledge of the University and its three campuses; have a strong community presence and networks;  
  • Have a general knowledge of and experience in one or more areas important to the University (for example: real estate, capital projects, city building, senior leadership succession planning, risk management (including cyber & reputational), financial services (e.g. audit, budget and investments); and 
  • Have international experience and/or exposure. 
  1. Alumni Governor Election Process

    Members discussed the Alumni Governor election process and reviewed the draft 2023 Alumni Governor Nomination Form that contained minor revisions from the previous year.

    The COE Secretary presented the tool kit for members and reviewed the communications plan, which would be implemented with the assistance of the Division of University Advancement to promote the call for nominations for three alumni members of Governing Council.

    College Members were asked to contact their respective university alumni affairs representatives to discuss further dissemination of the Call for Nominations – the Secretary would provide the necessary contact and draft content to Members.

  2. Election of the 2022-23 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors

    Brad Beveridge, Chris Girard, and Terese Weisberg were elected to the 2022-2023 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) of the College of Electors.

    The College returned to open session.
  3. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – October 3, 2022.

    The minutes of the meeting of October 3, 2022 were approved.
  4. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

    There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.
  5. Date of Next Meeting

    The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, January 24, 2023 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.
  6. Other Business

    There was no other business.


The meeting adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

November 18, 2022