Report: College of Electors - January 21, 2021

Via Virtual Meeting


Minutes of the College of Electors virtual meeting held on Thursday, January 21, 2021 at 5:00 p.m.

Corwin Cambray, (UTAA) (Chair), Jennifer Dolman (University College) (Vice-Chair), Jehane Adam (New College), Neville Austin (Faculty of Music), Judy Beamish (Medicine), Manny Bettencourt (UTM), Leslie A. Boehm (DLSPH), Arun Channan (Engineering), Vidia Dhanraj (New College), Ernesto Diaz Lozano Patiño (FASE), Demetra Dimokopoulos (UTM), Cynthia Elson (Victoria College), Paul Haynes (Victoria College), Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy), Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth), Eve Leung (Information), John Paul (JP) Lotesto (UTM), Dr. Sofya Malik (OISE), Victoria McNally (St. Michael's), Judy Newman (Social Work), David Plant (Trinity College), Dr. Joy Richards (Nursing), Dr. Sheila Ritcey (PT/OT), Larissa Rodo (Engineering), Dr. Cindy Sinclair (OISE), Dorinda So (UTSC), Mark Surchin (Law), Lisa Taillefer (Victoria College), Stephen Tardif (St. Michael’s College), Harlan E. Tufford (Woodsworth College), Dr. Gina Valle (OISE), Emily VanBerkum (St. Michael's)

Daniel J. Correia (KPE), Imre Gams (UTM), Chris Girard (University College), Dr. Leonard Grbac (Medicine), Julia Prato (UTSC), Lesley Pollard (Dentistry), Sitharsana Srithas (UTSC), Michael Stargiannis (Engineering), Matthew Stodolak (OISE), Theresa Wright (Innis College)

Secretariat: Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, Anwar Kazimi, Deputy Secretary of the Governing Council, Patrick McNeill, Secretary, College of Electors

Guests: Mr. Andrew Szende, Alumni Governor

  1. Chair’s Remarks

    The Chair welcomed members to the meeting. The Chair also extended a special welcome to Mr. Andrew Szende, Alumni Governor who had joined the meeting to address the College with respect to his 9 years of service and the role of an Alumni Governor.

    Members of the College asked questions and applauded the Mr. Szende for his service to the University.

The College moved In Camera.

  1. Review of Alumni Governor Applications

    The Chair reported on the work of the Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG), which had met on January 11, 2021 to conduct an initial assessment of the alumni governor application forms that had been received.

    The College then discussed the applicants and identified a list of candidates to be invited to attend an interview with the NC-AG.

    Members discussed the role of the NC-AG and the alumni governor election process.
  2. Review of Interview Questions and Interview Procedures

    The College reviewed the draft interview questions for 2021.

    The Chair reported that, following the meeting, each applicant would be informed by the Secretary, as to whether or not they had been invited to attend an interview with the NC-AG on Monday, February 8, 2021.

    After the interviews had been completed, the Report of the NC-AG would be prepared, including the Committee’s recommendations; it would be forwarded to the College for the next meeting.

The College moved back into open session.

  1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – November 3, 2020

    On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried,

    The minutes of the meeting of November 3, 2020 were approved.
  2. Business Arising from the Minutes

    There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.
  3. Date of Next Meeting

    The Chair noted that the next meeting of the College of Electors was scheduled to be held from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 23, 2021.
  4. Other Business

    There was no other business.

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

February 16, 2021