UTFA Tenure Appeals

Important Contact Information:

University of Toronto Faculty Association (UTFA)
720 Spadina Avenue, Suite #419
Toronto, ON M5S 2T9

T: 416-978-3351
F: 416-978-7061

Vice-Provost Faculty and Academic Life

Professor Sioban Nelson, Vice-Provost, Faculty & Academic Life

McMurrich Building, Room 103
12 Queen's Park Crescent West
Toronto, ON M5S 1S8

A faculty member who has been denied tenure should contact the University of Toronto Faculty Association (UTFA) for advice.

University Tenure Appeal Commitee Mandate:

The University Tenure Appeal Committee (UTAC) hears appeals against denial of tenure.

In adjudicating tenure appeals, UTAC has two options available to it, and its decision concerning these two options is final. It may:

  • dismiss the appeal; or
  • if it finds that any of the appeal grounds are substantiated, remit the case to a second tenure committee to be set up by the President for consideration of the question of tenure.

University Tenure Appeal Commitee Membership:

UTAC is composed of a Chair and at least 14 members, all of whom are appointed by the President of the University after consultation with the University of Toronto Faculty Association. Members are appointed for two-year terms, with half of the membership completing their terms each year.

Drawing from the pool of members, a hearing panel is formed to adjudicate an appeal. Each panel is composed of the Chair, plus four members.

Please click the following link for a PDF version of the University Tenure Appeal Committee Membership List 2018 - 2019.