The UTSC Subcommittee on Academic Appeals is chaired by a teaching staff member appointed by the Vice-Principal Academic and Dean from the members of the Subcommittee on Academic Appeals. Each hearing panel is comprised of up to 7 members (including the Chair). Panel members are drawn by the Secretary from a pool of 14 teaching staff members (one appointed by each department and academic centre) and two undergraduate students. The teaching staff members of the panel are drawn with due consideration to continuity, discipline relevance and quorum needs. Student members are approved by the committee on the recommendation of the Chair.

When possible, no panel member should belong to the same department as the appellant.

In addition, the Secretary and representatives from the Decanal Committee On Petitions and/or the Office of the Registrar shall attend hearings in a non-voting capacity.