Report: Executive Committee - May 19, 2022

Via Virtual Meeting room



Thursday, May 19, 2022

To the Governing Council,
University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a special meeting on Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 8:30 a.m. via Zoom, with the following members present:

Brian Law (Chair), Janet Ecker (Vice-Chair), Vina Goghari, Sandra Hanington, Paul Huyer, Sarosh Jamal, Ernest Lam, Lara Zink

Non-Voting Member:
Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council

Anwar Kazimi

In Attendance:
Vikram Chadalawada, Chair, University Affairs Board and Member of the Governing Council
Sal Spadafora, Chair, Academic Board and Member of the Governing Council
Grace Westcott, Chair, UTSC Campus Council and Member of the Governing Council

Pursuant to section 28 (e) and 38 of By-Law Number 2,
consideration of item 1 took place in camera.

The meeting was held in Closed Session.

The Chair welcomed the attendees to the meeting.

The Committee moved In Camera.

  1. Senior Appointment
    1. Extension of President Gertler’s Term

      On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried


      THAT the following recommendations be endorsed and forwarded to the Governing Council for approval: 

      THAT Professor Meric Gertler’s term as President of the University of Toronto be extended from June 30, 2023 until June 30, 2025, subject to such terms and conditions of appointment as are approved by the Senior Appointments and Compensation Committee.  

      THAT, pursuant to section 38 of By-Law Number 2, the Governing Council consider the proposed appointment in camera.

The Committee returned to closed session

The meeting adjourned at 9:00 a.m.

May 19, 2022