Report: College of Electors - January 22, 2020

Simcoe Hall, 27 King’s College Circle, Governing Council Chamber 2nd Floor Rm 214


Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Wednesday, January 22, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Corwin Cambray, (UTAA) (Chair); Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College) (Vice-Chair); Jehane Adam (New College); Mary Pat Armstrong (Nursing); Neville Austin (Faculty of Music); Judy Beamish (Medicine);
Leslie A. Boehm (DLSPH); Taleen Chouljian (Rotman); Daniel J. Correia (KPE); Demetra Dimokopoulos (UTM); Jennifer Dolman (University College); Imre Gams (UTM); Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy); Chris Girard (University College); Dr. Leonard Grbac (Medicine); Nancy E. Hill (Engineering); Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth); Eve Leung (Information); Paul Lindblad (New College); John Paul (JP) Lotesto (UTM); Dr. Sofya Malik (OISE); Judy Newman (Social Work); Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE); David F. Poirier (Engineering); Larissa Rodo (Engineering); Dr. Cindy Sinclair (OISE); Dorinda So (UTSC); Mark Surchin (Law); Stephen Tardif (St. Michael’s College); Emily VanBerkum (St. Michael's); Theresa Wright (Innis College);

Manny Bettencourt (UTM), Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College), Cynthia Elson (Victoria College), Paul Haynes (Victoria College), Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy), Joel Leon (Architecture), Rachele Levin (Forestry),
Victoria McNally (St. Michael's), Lesley Pollard (Dentistry), Julia Prato (UTSC), Sitharsana Srithas (UTSC), Michael Stargiannis (Engineering), Matthew Stodolak (OISE), Harlan E. Tufford (Woodsworth College),

Patrick McNeill, Secretary

Dr. Rose Patten, Chancellor

  1. Chair’s Remarks

    The Chair welcomed members to the meeting. The Chair also extended a special welcome to Dr. Rose Patten who had joined the meeting to address the College in her continued role as Chancellor of the University of Toronto

    Chancellor Patten expressed her deep gratitude to members for their important role as alumni on the College of Electors. Dr. Patten recognized the former Emeritus Chancellor, the Hon. Michael Wilson, for his passion, leadership and caring of the University – she described, as part of the theme of her presentation, the importance of connection and collaboration of alumni and their impact on the University. The Chancellor reflected on her time spent as a member of Governing Council and as its former Chair. She also highlighted her last year of office, which had included attendance at over 40 convocation ceremonies, among numerous other events.

    Members of the College asked questions and applauded the Chancellor for her service to the University.

The College moved In Camera.

  1. Review of Alumni Governor Applications

    The Chair reported on the work of the Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG). The NC-AG met on January 13, 2020 to conduct an initial assessment of the alumni governor application forms that had been received.

    The College then discussed the applicants and identified a list of candidates to be invited to attend an interview with the NC-AG.

    Members discussed the role of the NC-AG and the alumni governor election process.

  2. Review of Interview Questions and Interview Procedures

    The College reviewed the draft interview questions for 2020.

    The Chair reported that, following the meeting, each applicant would be informed by the Secretary, as to whether or not they had been invited to attend an interview with the NC-AG on Tuesday, February 11, 2020.

    After the interviews had been completed, the Report of the NC-AG would be prepared, including the Committee’s recommendations; it would be forwarded to the College for the next meeting.

The College moved back into open session.

  1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – November 12, 2019

    On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried,

    The minutes of the meeting of November 12, 2019 were approved.
  2. Business Arising from the Minutes

    There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.
  3. Date of Next Meeting

    The Chair noted that the next meeting of the College of Electors was scheduled to be held from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, February 20, 2020.
  4. Other Business

    There was no other business.

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

February 6, 2020