Report: College of Electors - February 23, 2022

Via Virtual Meeting room


Candice Jay, (UTAA) (Chair), Jennifer Dolman (University College) (Vice-Chair), Jehane Adam (New College), David Angell (Victoria College), Judy Beamish (Medicine), Manny Antonio Bettencourt (UTM), Leslie A. Boehm (DLSPH), Dr. George Buldo (Medicine), Daniel J. Correia (KPE), Arun Channan (Engineering), Vidia Dhanraj (New College), Ernesto Diaz Lozano Patiño (Engineering), Demetra Dimokopoulos (UTM), Althea Fernandes (UTSC), Cynthia Elson (Victoria College), Chris Girard (University College), Shauna Gundy (Trinity College), Evie Jesin (Dentistry), Nakia Lee-Foon (Victoria College), Eve Leung (Information), John Paul (JP) Lotesto (UTM), Dr. Sofya Malik (OISE), Douglas Moggach (St. Michael’s College), Nick Pantaleo (St. Michael’s College), Dr. Joy Richards (Nursing), Dr. Sheila Ritcey (PT/OT), Larissa Rodo (Engineering), Erin Rud-Thompson (Woodsworth College), Connie Sellors (Pharmacy), Dr. Cindy Sinclair (OISE),), Matthew Stodolak (OISE), Mark Surchin (Law), KimEija Taipaleenmaki (University College), Stephen Tardif (St. Michael’s College), Harlan E. Tufford (Woodsworth College), Dr. Gina Valle (OISE), Robin Whiffen (Music), Tom Woods (Engineering)

Doris Chee (FALD), Imre Gams (UTM), Tara Kisson (Rotman), Judy Newman (Social Work), David Plant (Trinity College), Julia Prato (UTSC), Sitharsana Srithas (UTSC), Lisa Taillefer (Victoria College), Theresa Wright (Innis College)

Anwar Kazimi, Deputy Secretary of the Governing Council (Chief Returning Officer attending for Item 2), Patrick McNeill, Secretary, College of Electors

  1. Chair’s Remarks

    The Chair welcomed members to the meeting.

    On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College moved In Camera.
  2. Election of Alumni Governors

    The 2021-22 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee’s recommendations. Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

    The following were elected as alumni members of the Governing Council:
    • Mathangi (Indi) Gopinathan elected for a term from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2025 [Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering - 1996, Bachelor of Applied Science, Civil Engineering]
    • R. Scott MacKendrick elected for a term from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2025 [Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering - 1982, Bachelor of Applied Science, Chemical Engineering]
    • Eha Naylor elected for a term from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2025 [John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design – 1980, Bachelor of Landscape Architecture]

The Chair expressed thanks to the members of the College and the Nominating Committee - Alumni Governors (NC-AG) for their work. Ms Jay reminded members about the importance of confidentiality on all of the candidates and the COE discussions, both now and going forward.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College moved into open session.

  1. Nomination Process 2022-2023 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

    The Chair provided some background information about the membership process for the Executive Committee outlined in the Constitution. Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2022-2023 Executive Committee.

    Members in their fourth year had previously volunteered at the May 17th COE meeting to serve on the 2021-2022 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC). They were Dr. Judy Beamish (Medicine); Daniel Correia (KPE) and Judy Newman (Social Work).

    Outgoing members of the Executive Committee, Jennifer Dolman and Demetra Dimokopoulos, shared their experiences on the Committee.

    The application deadline was Thursday, March 24th, 2022. The NC-EC would prepare a recommendation to the College for its final meeting in May.
  2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

    On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the minutes of the meeting of January 25, 2022 were approved.
  3. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

    There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.
  4. Date of Next Meeting

    The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Monday, May 9, 2022 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.
  5. Other Business

    The Chair reported that an invitation would be extended to the current sitting Alumni Governors and Alumni Governors-Elect to attend the May 9, 2022 meeting of the College.


The meeting adjourned at 6:46 p.m.

February 28, 2022