Report: College of Electors February 20, 2020

Council Chamber


Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Corwin Cambray, (UTAA) (Chair); Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College) (Vice-Chair); Mary Pat Armstrong (Nursing); Neville Austin (Faculty of Music); Judy Beamish (Medicine); Manny Bettencourt (UTM); Leslie A. Boehm (DLSPH); Daniel J. Correia (KPE); Demetra Dimokopoulos (UTM); Jennifer Dolman (University College); Cynthia Elson (Victoria College); Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy); Chris Girard (University college); Dr. Leonard Grbac (Medicine); Nancy E. Hill (Engineering); Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth); Joel Leon (Architecture); Eve Leung (Information); Paul Lindblad (New College); Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE); David F. Poirier (Engineering); Larissa Rodo (Engineering); Dr. Cindy Sinclair (OISE); Dorinda So (UTSC); Michael Stargiannis (Engineering); Mark Surchin (Law); Stephen Tardif (St. Michael’s College); Harlan E. Tufford (Woodsworth College); Emily VanBerkum (St. Michael's)

Jehane Adam (New College); Taleen Chouljian (Rotman); Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College); Imre Gams (UTM); Paul Haynes (Victoria College); Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy); Rachele Levin (Forestry); John Paul (JP) Lotesto (UTM); Dr. Sofya Malik (OISE); Victoria McNally (St. Michael's); Judy Newman (Social Work); Lesley Pollard (Dentistry); Julia Prato (UTSC); Sitharsana Srithas (UTSC); Matthew Stodolak (OISE);
Theresa Wright (Innis College)

Patrick McNeill, Secretary

  1. Chair’s Remarks

    The Chair welcomed members to the meeting.


    The Chair noted that of the items listed on the Consent Agenda, one (Item 2) required approval and the others were for information only.

    On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried


    THAT the consent agenda be adopted and items approved.
  2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

    The minutes of the meeting of January 22, 2020 were approved.
  3. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

    There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.
  4. Date of Next Meeting

    The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Monday, May 11, 2020 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

    The Committee moved In Camera.
  5. Election of Alumni Governors

    The Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee’s recommendations.

    Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

    Election of Alumni Governors continued:

    The following alumni members of the Governing Council were elected for a three-year term from July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023:

    David Bowden (re-elected)

    Teo Dechev

    Grace Westcott

    The Chair expressed thanks to the members of the College and the Nominating Committee - Alumni Governors (NC-AG) for their work.

    The Committee Returned to Open Session
  6. Nomination Process 2020-2021 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

    Nancy Hill, a member of the Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC) provided some background information about the membership process outlined in the Constitution. Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2020-2021 Executive Committee.
    The application deadline was Thursday, March 19, 2020. The NC-EC would prepare a recommendation to the College for its final meeting.
  7. Other Business

    The Chair reported that an invitation would be extended to the current sitting Alumni Governors and Alumni Governors-Elect to attend the May 11, 2020 meeting of the College.

    The meeting adjourned at 6:48 p.m.

February 27, 2020