Report: Agenda Committee - September 24th, 2019

Simcoe Hall, 27 King’s College Circle, Board Room, 2nd Floor

Tuesday, September 24, 2019

To the Academic Board,
University of Toronto

Your Committee reports that it met on Tuesday, September 24, 2019, at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall with the following members present:

Douglas McDougall (Vice-Chair), Markus Bussmann, Samantha Chang, Richard Hegele, Ernest W.N. Lam, Susan McCahan, Jan Mahrt-Smith, Cheryl Regehr

Nicholas Terpstra (Chair)

Tracey Gameiro (Secretary, Agenda Committee)

In Attendance:
Archana Sridhar (Assistant Provost, Office of the Vice-President and Provost)

The meeting was held in Closed Session

  1. Chair’s Remarks

    Professor Douglass McDougall, Vice-Chair, chaired the meeting in Professor Nicholas Terpstra’s absence.

    Professor McDougall introduced himself as the incoming Vice-Chair, and extended regrets on behalf of the Chair, Professor Terpstra. The Vice-Chair welcomed members to the first meeting of the Committee for 2019-2020.

    The Vice-Chair then provided an overview of the Committee membership, function, and procedures. He noted that background materials were available on the Committee’s Resources section of the governance portal, as well as on the Committee’s website.

    Approvals by Electronic Ballot

    The Vice-Chair noted that prior to the Committee’s first meeting, there had been a need, because of time constraints, to consider several academic administrative appointments by means of electronic ballot. He read the resolutions of September 6, 2019.


    the following academic administrative appointments
    Professor Marsha Chechik

    Interim Chair & Interim Graduate Chair Department of Computer Science
    July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020

    Professor Nicholas Terpstra

    Interim Chair & Interim Graduate Chair Department of Italian Studies
    August 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020


    Professor Malcolm Thorburn

    Associate Dean, Graduate Program

    January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2022

  2. Report on Approvals under Summer Executive Authority

    The Vice-Chair reminded members that on June 25, 2019, the Council approved the annual delegation of authority to the President to act on behalf of the Governing Council during the summer months. The Vice-Chair reported that a senior academic appointment was approved under Summer Executive Authority, with the resolution as follows:

    THAT Professor Emeritus Ian Orchard be appointed as Acting Vice-President, University of Toronto, concurrent with his appointment as Acting Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga, effective September 4, 2019 until June 30, 2020, or sooner if Professor Krull is able to resume his duties before then.

    This resolution was subsequently approved by the Governing Council at its meeting on September 4, 2019.

    The Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority was received by the Committee for information.

  3. Calendar of Business and Terms of Reference

    The Committee reviewed the 2019-2020 Agenda Committee Calendar of Business. The Vice-Chair then reviewed the Committee’s Terms of Reference. He noted that much of the work undertaken by the Agenda Committee involved confirmation of the Academic Board agenda and approval of Academic Administrative Appointments. He encouraged members to review the Terms of Reference if they had not already done so.

  4. Academic Board – Review and Approval of Agenda – Thursday, October 3, 2019

    The Committee reviewed and confirmed the agenda for the October 3, 2019 Academic Board meeting.

    The agenda focused on the Orientation of new members, as well as seven capital projects coming forward to the Board. In the absence of the Provost the Report of the Vice-President and Provost would be delivered by Professor Susan McCahan, Vice-Provost, Academic Programs. The Report would include a brief update on the Strategic Mandate Agreement.

  5. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting

    Report 256 from the meeting of June 27, 2019, was approved.
  6. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

    There was no business arising from the Report of the previous meeting.
  7. Date of the Next Meeting – Tuesday, November 12, 2019

    The Vice-Chair advised members that the Committee would next meet on Tuesday, November 12, 2019, from 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.
  8. Other Business

    There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved IN CAMERA.

  1. Appointments: 2019-2020 Striking Committee

    The Vice-Chair reviewed the responsibilities of the Striking Committee and the process for establishing its membership.

    On motion duly moved, seconded and carried


    THAT the following members of the Academic Board be appointed to the 2019-2020 Striking Committee of the Academic Board for a term effective immediately to June 30, 2020

    Ben Liu, administrative staff member
    Harvey Botting, alumnus
    Samantha Chang, student
  2. Academic Administrative Appointments

    On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried


    The following academic administrative appointments.


    Dr. Nancy Baxter

    Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs

    September 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022 [renewal]

    Dr. Audrey Laporte

    Interim Director

    Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation

    September 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 [extension

The committee returned to CLOSED SESSION.

The meeting adjourned at 3:46 p.m.

September 27, 2019