Appointment of the 15th President of the University of Toronto

Memorandum to:   

Governing Council
Academic Board
Business Board
University Affairs Board
Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs
Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff
President of UTFA
Presidents of Employee Unions
Presidents of APUS, GSU, SAC and SCSU
President of UTAA
Chairman of PIAC


Rose M. Patten
Chair of the Governing Council

Date: April 26, 2005

Re:  Appointment of the 15th President of the University of Toronto

At a special meeting this morning, the Governing Council approved the appointment of Professor C. David Naylor as the 15th President of the University of Toronto for a five-year term, effective October 1, 2005.  His appointment follows an extensive international search initiated in August of last year.  He will succeed The Honourable Frank Iacobucci, who has served as Interim President since September 2004.

Professor Naylor has been Dean of the University’s Faculty of Medicine and Vice Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions, since 1999.  A faculty member at the University since 1988, Naylor received his MD from U of T and D. Phil. from Oxford where he was a Rhodes Scholar in the Department of Social and Administrative Studies. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, he is the co-author of approximately 300 scholarly publications.  His academic work spans social history, public policy, epidemiology and biostatistics, and health economics, as well as clinical and health services research in most fields of medicine.

Dean Naylor brings an extraordinary breadth of talent to our University.  He has an outstanding track record of academic excellence, strong administrative leadership, and broad experience in external community outreach.  He has served as a formal and informal advisor to governments at the federal and provincial level on multiple issues for fifteen years.  We are very fortunate to have him right here in our midst to lead our University at this important point in time.

Prior to becoming Dean, Professor Naylor developed and led Toronto’s Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (ICES), Canada’s largest multi-disciplinary team of healthcare researchers.  In 2003, he was asked by the federal government to chair the National Advisory Committee on SARS and Public Health. The Committee’s report catalyzed the creation of the Public Health Agency of Canada and appointment of Canada’s first Chief Public Health Officer.  Dean Naylor has received numerous national and international awards for research and academic leadership.

Visit our President-designate’s web site at  for more information and to view the media conference live via webcast, scheduled to begin at 12 noon today.

I know that you will join me in wishing Dean Naylor well as our next President.  Over the course of the day, we will be inviting various groups of academic administrators, faculty, staff and students to join me and the Interim President in meetings to introduce our President-designate.  This evening, the Interim President and I will be hosting an informal reception for the University community this evening from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. in the Ballroom at 89 Chestnut Street .  We hope that you will be able to attend to meet the President-designate.

In closing, I would like to thank all of you who contributed with your thoughtful and rich input throughout the search process.