UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 199 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

March 11, 2014

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, March 11, 2014, at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair)

Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Vice-Chair)

Professor Elizabeth Cowper

Mr. David Kleinman Professor Sioban Nelson

David Walders, Secretary

Regrets: Professor Doug McDougall

Professor Alison Keith Professor Cheryl Regehr

In Attendance: Ms Caroline Cardarople, Special Projects Officer, from the Provost's

Office

Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the

Vice-President and Provost

Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

1. Academic Board

a) Review and Approval of Agenda (March 20, 2014)

The Committee discussed the draft agenda for the Academic Board and members raised suggestions for Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering to consider with respect to future Constitutional amendments. The Committee approved the draft agenda for the January 30, 2014 Academic Board meeting.

CONSENT AGENDA

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the consent agenda be adopted.

2. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting: Report Number 198 – February 24, 2014

Report Number 198 of the meeting held on February 24, 2014, was approved.

3. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from Report 198

- **4. Date of Next Meeting** Wednesday, April 23, 2014, 3:00 4:00 p.m.
- 5. Other Business
 - a) Approvals by Electronic Ballot

The Chair noted that, in the interest of time, one academic administrative appointment was approved by the Committee by electronic ballot since the meeting on February 24, 2014. She read the resolution of March 7, 2014 into the record.

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointment:

LAWRENCE S. BLOOMBERG FACULTY OF NURSING

Professor Linda Johnston Dean

August 1, 2014 to June 30, 2019

The Committee moved *in camera*.

6. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor Farid Najm	Chair and Graduate Chair (renewal) Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2019
FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE	
Professor Anne-Marie Brousseau	Associate Dean, Undergraduate (renewal) July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017
FACULTY OF MEDICINE	
Professor Salvatore Spadafora	Vice-Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education (renewal) January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2020 (includes one-year administrative leave)
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA	
Professor Robert Reisz	Vice-Dean, Graduate July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017
Professor Alison Syme	Chair Department of Visual Studies July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2018
The Committee returned to closed session.	
The meeting	ng adjourned at 3:35 p.m.
Secretary March 13, 2014	Chair