#### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

### THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

#### REPORT NUMBER 197 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

### **January 21, 2014**

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, January 21, 2014, at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair)

Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Vice-Chair)

Professor Ron Levi

Professor Doug McDougall Professor Sioban Nelson Professor Cheryl Regehr

Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Professor Elizabeth Cowper

Professor Alison Keith Mr. David Kleinman

In Attendance: Professor Steve Thorpe, Member of the Governing Council and Vice-

Chair, Planning and Budget Committee

Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the

Vice-President and Provost

Ms Gail Milgrom, Director, Campus Facilities and Planning\*

Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

\*Present for Item 2.

### 1. Approvals by Electronic Ballot

The Chair noted that, in the interest of time, two academic administrative appointments had been approved by the Committee by electronic ballot between the meetings of November 6 and December 17, 2013. She read the resolutions of December 4, 2013 into the record.

### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

#### JOSEPH L. ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT

Dr. Tiff Macklem Dean

July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2019

Governance Bodies/AC/2013-14/AC Report 2014 01 21.docx

## JOHN H. DANIELS FACULTY OF ARCHITECTURE, LANDSCAPE, AND DESIGN

Professor Richard Sommer Dean

July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2019

[Reappointment]

### 2. Academic Board

## a) Review and Approval of Agenda – Thursday, January 30, 2014

The Committee discussed and approved the draft agenda for the January 30, 2014 Academic Board meeting.

### **CONSENT AGENDA**

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the consent agenda be adopted.

3. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting: Report Number 196December 17, 2013

Report Number 196 of the meeting held on December 17, 2013 was approved.

### 4. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from Report Number 196.

**5. Date of Next Meeting** – Tuesday, February 11, 2014, 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.

### 6. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved *in camera*.

# 7. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

### FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor David Cameron Dean

February 1, 2014 to June 30, 2016

Professor Stephen Toope Director

Munk School of Global Affairs January 1, 2015 to June 30, 2020

Professor Janice Stein Director

Munk School of Global Affairs July 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014

(extension)

### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA

Professor Mary Lou Smith Chair

Department of Psychology July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2017

# UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor Rick Halpern Vice-Principal (Academic) and Dean

University of Toronto Scarborough

July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2019

(reappointment)

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Secretary	Chair
January 21, 2014	