# AWARDS & HONOURS OCTOBER 25 – NOVEMBER 27, 2013

### Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

University Professor Emeritus **Bernard Etkin**, an AIAA Fellow, has been selected to receive the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Aerospace Guidance, Navigation, and Control Award for 2014. This award is being given to Etkin "For outstanding achievement in and dedication to research and education in the field of guidance, navigation and control for over a half century" and will be presented January 14, 2014, at the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition in National Harbor, Maryland.

## **Faculty of Medicine**

**Dr. Graham Glancy** is president-elect of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law. Glancy will serve as president-elect for one year and then assume the presidency for a one-year term. He was previously president of the Canadian Academy of Psychiatry and the Law between 1993-1997.

# **Faculty of Arts & Science**

Two University of Toronto researchers, **David Francis Taylor**, English and **J. Patrick Clancy**, Physics, have won esteemed Polanyi Prizes – Taylor for his work examining the role of political cartoons in the 1700s and Clancy for his research into quantum materials. Created to celebrate U of T professor **John Polanyi**'s 1986 Nobel Prize win, with funding from the Government of Ontario, the annual \$20,000 awards mirror the diverse categories of the Nobel Prizes.

Professor **Domenico Pietropaolo**, Italian Studies, has won the Spirit of Ontario Award in the field of "Academia and Education" in recognition of peer-reviewed research and significant improvements to education.

**Mirella Pasquarelli Clivio**, Italian Studies, has won the Spirit of Ontario Award in the field of "Italian Culture", for efforts promoting pride in Italian heritage and culture.

The Italian Studies Department has been given special recognition from the Accademia della Crusca for long, continuous and intense work in the field of Italian Studies. Accademia della Crusca is the world's most important institution responsible for regulating the Italian language as well as the oldest linguistic academy in the world.

Professor **Mary Nyquist**, English, has won the Irene Samuel Memorial Prize for her book Milton and Questions of History: Essays by Canadians. Rachel Trubowitz, president of the Milton Society of America, calls the book a wonderfully "thought-provoking volume, from its intellectually stimulating introduction through to its stunning, tour-de-force afterword."

Professor **Tom Keymer**, English, has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society in the UK for "original contribution to historical scholarship in the form of significant publication."

## **Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work**

Professor **Marion Bogo** has received the 2013 Significant Lifetime Achievement in Social Work Education Award from the Council on Social Work Education. Bogo is being recognized for her tireless commitment to improving social work education and her groundbreaking contributions to improving the way competence in social work students is assessed.

## **Rotman School of Management / Martin Prosperity Institute**

A prestigious, bi-annual ranking of the world's leading "management thinkers" has named Professor Roger Martin, Adjunct Professor Don Tapscott and Professor Richard Florida of U of T's Rotman School of Management and Martin Prosperity Institute to its list – with Martin and Tapscott appearing in the top four. The U of T is the only Canadian school to appear on the Thinkers50 list, which honours

"thinkers whose ideas have shaken up the world of management thinking and have practically and inspirationally challenged managers to change their worlds."

#### **Multi-Faculty**

Grand Challenges Canada awarded grants to eight University of Toronto researchers for their work in the developing world. The researchers are:

Professor Timothy Chan, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering; Professor Stephanie
Nixon, Physical Therapy and Dalla Lana School of Public Health; Professor G. Andrew
Woolley, Chemistry; Professor Shana Kelley, Biochemistry; Professor Edmond
Young, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering; Professor Radhakrishnan Mahadevan,
Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry; Professor Javad Mostaghimi,
Mechanical and Industrial Engineering; Professor Barry Rosen, U of T Obstetrics and
Gynaecology and University Health Network

Ten U of T professors were awarded new Canada Research Chairs and five more had their chairs renewed as announced by the Government of Canada on Nov. 14. The new chairs are:

Richard Bazinet, Department of Nutritional Sciences, CRC in Brain Lipid Metabolism;

Amy Caudy, Banting & Best Department of Medical Research, CRC in Metabolics for Functional Enzyme Discovery; Hai-Ying Cheng, Department of Biology, U of T Mississauga, CRC in Molecular Genetics of Biological Clocks; Patrick Gunning, Department of Chemical & Physical Sciences, U of T Mississauga, CRC in Medicinal Chemistry; Elizabeth Johnson, Department of Psychology, U of T Mississauga, CRC in Spoken Language Acquisition; Jeffery Lee, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology, CRC in Structural Virology; Thierry Mallevaey, Department of Immunology, CRC in NKT Cell Immunobiology; Rosemary Martino, Department of Speech-Language Pathology, CRC in Swallowing Disorders; Suzanne Stewart, Department of Applied Psychology & Human Development at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, CRC in Aboriginal Homelessness and Life Transitions; Piero

**Triverio**, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, CRC in Modeling of Electrical Interconnects.

The renewed chairs are:

Charlie Boone, Banting & Best Department of Medical Research, CRC in Proteomics, Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics; Cindy-Lee Dennis, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, CRC in Perinatal Community Health; Michael Lambek, Department of Anthropology, U of T Scarborough, CRC in the Anthropology of Ethical Life; Christopher McCulloch, Faculty of Dentistry, CRC in Matrix Dynamics; Mohan Matthen, Department of Philosophy, U of T Mississauga, CRC in Philosophy of Perception

-30-