UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

SEPTEMBER 12, 2013

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL held on September 12, 2013 at 9:00 a.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, University of Toronto.

Present:

Ms Judy Goldring (Chair) Ms Shirley Hoy (Vice-Chair)

Professor David C. Naylor, President

Professor Meric S. Gertler, President-Designate

Ms Alexis Archbold Professor John Bland Mr. Harvey Botting Mr. Jeff Collins

Professor Elizabeth Cowper

Mr. Rastko Cvekic Mr. Adrian De Leon Mr. Aidan Fishman Mr. Andrew Girgis

Professor Avrum I. Gotlieb
Professor William A. Gough
Professor Hugh P. Gunz
Ms Alexandra Harris
Ms Zabeen Hirji
Professor Ellen Hodnett
Professor Edward Iacobucci
Ms Claire M.C. Kennedy
Mr. R. Mark Krembil
Mr. Nykolaj Kuryluk
Mr. Brian Lawson
Dr. Gary P. Mooney

Professor Hargurdeep (Deep) Saini Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak Professor Elizabeth M. Smyth Professor Salvatore M. Spadafora Professor Steven J. Thorpe

Mr. Andrew Szende

Ms Mainawati Rambali

Ms Catherine Riddell

Professor Cheryl Regehr

Ms B. Elizabeth Vosburgh

Mr. Louis R. Charpentier, Secretary of the Governing Council

Secretariat:

Ms Mariam Ali Mr. Jim Delaney Ms Sheree Drummond

Ms Cindy Ferencz Hammond

Mr. Anwar Kazimi Ms Rena Parsan

Ms Amorell Saunders N'Daw

Mr. David Walders

Absent:

Mr. Brent S. Belzberg Mr. Yuan Chung

Mr. Suresh (Steve) K. Gupta

Mr. Asad J. Jamal Ms Paulette L. Kennedy Ms Nancy Carolyn Lee Ms N. Jane Pepino Ms Melinda M. Rogers Mr. Howard Shearer Professor Janice Gross Stein

Mr. W. John Switzer Mr. W. Keith Thomas

Ms Rita Tsang

In Attendance:

Mr. Scott MacKendrick, Chair, College of Electors

Professor Jill Matus, Vice-Provost, Students and First-Entry Divisions

Ms Lucy Fromowitz, Assistant Vice-President, Student Life Mr. Steve Moate, Senior Legal Counsel, Office of the President

Mr. David Newman, Acting Director, Office of the Vice-Provost, Students and First-Entry Divisions Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

IN ACCORDANCE WITH A DETERMINATION BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE PURSUANT TO SECTIONS 38 OF BY-LAW NUMBER 2 OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL, ITEMS 9 AND 10 ON THE AGENDA WERE CONSIDERED BY THE GOVERNING COUNCIL *IN CAMERA*.

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed new and returning members to the first meeting of the Governing Council for the 2013-14 governance year. She reported that the Lieutenant Governor had issued the order that Mr. Brian Lawson be appointed to the University of Toronto Governing Council for a period of three years, effective July 1, 2013.

The Chair introduced the new members of the Secretariat: Ms Cindy Ferencz Hammond, Director of Governance, University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM) and Assistant Secretary of the Governing Council; Ms Mariam Ali, Committee Secretary, UTM; Ms Amorell Saunders N'Daw, Director of Governance, University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) and Assistant Secretary of the Governing Council; Ms Rena Parsan, Committee Secretary, UTSC; and, Mr. Jim Delaney, Acting Assistant Secretary of the Governing Council.

The Chair congratulated five former governors who had received Arbor Awards at a ceremony earlier in the week: Ms Diana Alli; Mr. P.C. Choo; Mr. Ken Davy; Mr. Richard Nunn; and, Mr. David Wilson.

2. Report of the President

The Chair invited the President to give his report. He expressed his gratitude to returning members and welcomed new members to their roles. He congratulated the large number of former governors who received Arbor Awards this year.

The President acknowledged the contributions of Professor Gertler as President-Designate since his appointment had been announced, and since his arrival in Simcoe Hall on September 1, 2013. He reported that the President-Designate had been assuming responsibility for matters which foreseeably had the prospect of extending beyond mid-October. The President also formally welcomed Professor Cheryl Regehr who had begun her term as Vice-President and Provost on September 1, 2013, and remarked upon how quickly she was settling into the role. The President reported that the Boundless campaign would soon be celebrating the important milestone of \$1.3 billion in commitments. He acknowledged, however, that the final third of any campaign is the most difficult part and that he would be grateful for continued advocacy of governors in this final stage.

With respect to on-going challenges related to the economy, constrained growth in the provincial operating grant, and other financial pressures, the President indicated that the University continued to strive to achieve the best possible blend of support for students, staff and faculty. At the federal level, there continued to be a challenge with the limited funding for the institutional costs of research. He noted, however, that discussions were proceeding with the "U15" universities about an excellence fund similar to that in place in some European jurisdictions.

The President highlighted that the University of Toronto had ranked twenty-eighth in the world in the recently released Shanghai Academic Ranking of World Universities 2013, exceeding other Canadian institutions by a wide margin; and seventeenth in the 2013 QS World University Rankings.

3. Minutes of the Previous Meeting of June 27, 2013

The minutes of the meeting held on June 27, 2013 were approved.

4. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting of the Governing Council

The Chair provided an update on the matter related to the Student Commons Project and the undergraduate student societies which was reported at the June 27, 2013 meeting. A communication had been forwarded to governors from Professor Misak on August 29, 2013 regarding a planned summit of student governments and divisional student societies. She reported that the summit had been asked to consider the issues in dispute between the organizations regarding the distribution of student fees and democratic reform, and that experts in democratic theory and practice would be involved. She advised that updates and a report at the conclusion of the summit would be provided to the Vice-President and Provost and to the Governing Council.

Professor Regehr reported that all of the relevant student societies had been invited to the summit and that sixteen of twenty organizations had indicated their interest to participate. Other groups had been invited to make submissions to the summit.

5. Reports for Information

Members received the following reports for information:

- a. Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority
- b. Report Number 457 of the Executive Committee (June 27, 2013)

6. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair advised members that the next meeting would be on Wednesday, October 30, 2013 at 4:30 p.m.

7. Question Period

There were no questions.

8. Other Business

There was no other business.

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL MOVED IN CAMERA.

9. 2013-14 Governor Assignment

On a motion duly made, seconded, and carried.

IT WAS RESOLVED

THAT Mr. Brian Lawson be appointed to the Audit Committee, for a one-year term effective immediately.

10. Committee for Honorary Degrees Member

On a motion duly made, seconded, and carried.

IT WAS RESOLVED

THAT Professor Locke Rowe be approved as a teaching staff member of the 2013-2014 Committee for Honorary Degrees.

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL MOVED TO OPEN SESSION.

Meeting adjourned at 9:25 a.m.	
Secretary	Chair

October 2, 2013