### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

#### **COLLEGE OF ELECTORS**

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Wednesday, March 6, 2013 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Mr. Luke Pollard (UTAA – Chair)

 $Ms\ Sue\ Graham-Nutter\ (UTSC-Vice$ 

Chair)

Mr. Ryan Ackers (University College)

Ms Jeannie An (Information)

Mr. Bob Boeckner (University College)

Dr. Alexandra Berezowskyj (Medicine)

Professor David Bernhardt (Victoria

College)

Mr. Corwin Cambray (SGS)

Mr. Ken Davy (Woodsworth)

Ms L. Diane Dyer (Victoria College)

Mr. Tye Farrow (Architecture, Landscape

and Design)

Ms Tammy Fernandes (University College)

Mr. Norm Hann (Engineering)

Dr. Francesca La Marca (St. Michael's)

Ms Sadia Mahmood (Public Health)

Mr. Paul Malozewski (Engineering)

Dr. Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)

Ms Ceta Ramkhalawansingh (New)

Mr. John Richardson (Victoria)

Ms Lesley Riedstra (New)

Ms Lindsay Shaddy (OISE)

Ms Margaret Shaw (Physical Therapy and

Occupational Therapy)

Ms Mary Shenstone (Trinity)

Mr. Mathew Szeto (Engineering)

Ms Joanne Uyede (Innis)

Ms Susan Q. Wilson (Music)

Mr. David Windross (Pharmacy)

Mr. W. Grant Worden (Law)

# **Regrets:**

Ms Fariba Anderson (Rotman)

Ms Carol Bisnath (UTM)

Rev. David Harrison (SGS)

Ms Sara Hipson (Forestry)

Mr. Rodney Hurd (UTSC)

Dr. Sema Kenan (OISE)

Mr. Kristopher Kibsey (UTM)

Mr. David Lucatch (UTSC)

Dr. Ivan Owen McFarlane (Trinity)

Ms Paula Paunic (Kinesiology and Physical

Education)

Secretary: Mr. Anwar Kazimi

Mr. Peter Rogers (St. Michael's)

Mr. Al Smith (UTM)

Dr. Malcolm Stewart (Social Work)

Ms. Anne Venton

Professor Emerita Judy Watt-Watson

(Nursing)

Ms Lucinda Williams (Woodsworth)

Dr. Helen Parsan Ziral (OISE)

The College met *in camera* to consider item 2

#### 1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the meeting. He informed the members that at its meeting on February 27, 2013, the Governing Council had approved revisions to the College's Constitution that had been recommended by the College on February 11, 2013. The revised procedure to elect alumni governors would be adopted at the meeting.

The Chair announced that Dr. Francesca La Marca had been elected to the national parliament of the Italian Republic. Members greeted the announcement with applause.

### 2. Election of Alumni Members

The Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee's recommendations. Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

The following alumni members of the Governing Council were elected.

**Mr.** Nykolaj Kuryluk, re-elected for a second term from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2016. Bachelor of Science, University of Toronto (Erindale College), 1970.

**Mr. Harvey Botting**, term from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2016. Bachelor of Arts, University of Toronto (Victoria College), 1967; Masters in Journalism, Northwestern University, Chicago, 1969; Master of Business Administration, University of Toronto (Joseph L. Rotman School of Management), 1985.

**Ms. Nancy Lee**, term from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2016. Honours Bachelor of Arts (Victoria College), 1982; Masters of Journalism, Carleton University, 1987.

The College returned to open session.

### 3. Nominations for the 2013-2014 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2013-2014 Executive Committee. The application deadline was Wednesday, April 17, 2013.

### **CONSENT AGENDA**

The Chair noted that of the items listed on the Consent Agenda, one (item 4) required approval and the other were for information only.

On motion, duly moved, seconded, and carried

It was Resolved

THAT the Consent Agenda be adopted and that the item be approved.

## 4. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – February 11, 2013

The minutes were approved.

# 5. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

## 6. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair said that the next meeting would be held on Wednesday, May 22, 2013, from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

### 7. Other Business

The College briefly discussed various procedures by which the report of the NC-AG could be presented to the College at future meetings.

A member reported on a recent Business Board meeting that he had attended and where the discussion had focussed on the tuition fees and provincial funding. Another member informed the College that she had attended the meeting of the Governing Council on February 27, 2013.

	The meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.		
Secretary		Chair	
April 20, 2013			