Awards & Honours August – October 2012

Faculty of Arts & Science

Professor Emeritus **Larry Bourne**, Geography, has been awarded the International Geographical Union's highest honour, the Lauréat d'honneur. This award honours individuals who have achieved particular distinction or who have rendered outstanding service in the work of the IGU or in international geography and environmental research.

Professor **William Cunningham**, Psychology, won the International Union of Psychological Science Young Investigator Award (Basic Science) for his insightful and integrative research creating a comprehensive, multilevel model of evaluative processing and for his elucidation of the nature and function of the human affective system.

Andy Dicks, Chemistry, has won an Ontario Confederation of Faculty Associations (OCUFA) Teaching Award which recognizes outstanding teaching at Ontario universities. Five awards, out of a possible total of seven, were awarded.

Professor **Sajeev John**, Physics, has won the 2013 IEEE David Sarnoff Award for the conception and development of light-trapping crystals and for leadership in elucidating their properties and applications in photonics.

Professor Pamela Klassen, Study of Religion, has won the American Academy of Religion Award of Excellence in the Study of Religion in the Analytical-Descriptive Studies category for her book: *Spirits of Protestantism: Medicine, Healing, and Liberal Christianity.*

Professor John Polanyi, Chemistry, has been awarded the Helmholtz Medal from the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. The medal is awarded biennially to individuals who have made outstanding lifetime achievements in the fields of humanities, social sciences, mathematics and natural sciences, biology, medicine and engineering sciences.

Professor Greg Scholes, Chemistry, has received the Royal Society of Chemistry's Bourke Award which enables distinguished scientists from overseas to lecture in the UK in the field of physical chemistry or chemical physics.

Instructor **Lindsey Shorser**, Mathematics, coached Canada's (high school) math team to gold, silver and bronze medals at the 53rd International Math Olympiad which was held in Mar del Plata, Argentina.

Professor Aaron Wheeler, Chemistry, has won the 2012 Heinrich Emanuel Merck Award for Analytical Science for his development of a digital microfluidic method for the extraction and quantification of estrogen in 1-microliter samples of breast tissue homogenate, whole blood and serum.

Professor **Mitch Winnik**, Chemistry, is the 2013 recipient of the American Chemical Society Award in Polymer Science awarded to recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in the science or technology of plastics, coatings, polymer composites, adhesives, and related fields. He is the first Canadian university scientist to receive the award.

Professor **Joseph Heath,** Philosophy, is one of four Canadian scholars honoured with Trudeau Fellowships this year. The fellowships are awarded annually from the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation to individuals who set themselves apart through their research, creativity and their commitment to public issues of importance to Canada. Each Fellow receives \$225,000, payable over three years.

Eight new Canada Research Chairs (CRCs) were awarded to the University of Toronto October 12, 2012. The new CRCs are:

- Michael Baker, Economics, CRC in Economics, Child Development and Public Policy
- Julie Claycomb, Molecular Genetics, CRC in Small RNA Biology
- Jason Moffat, Molecular Genetics, CRC in Functional Genetics of Cancer
- Trevor F. Moraes, Biochemistry, CRC in Structural Biology of Membrane Proteins
- Scott Schieman, Sociology, CRC in the Social Contexts of Health
- **Dwight S. Seferos**, Chemistry, CRC in Polymer Nanotechnology

- Sabine Stanley, Physics, CRC in Planetary Physics
- Mark S. Taylor, Chemistry, CRC in Molecular Recognition and Catalysis

Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (CITA),

Mike Nolta, Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (CITA), has been awarded the 2012 Gruber Cosmoloy Prize for his substantial contributions to the development of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe.

Faculty of Medicine

Dr. **David Orlov**, a PGY4 resident in the Department of Anesthesia, is the recipient of the 2012 Daniel Massik MHAUS Anesthesiology Resident's Award. Dr. Orlov is the first Canadian trainee to receive this award and will attend the American Society of Anesthesiologists meeting in Washington, DC to present his work on "Analysis of abnormal histomorphology in malignant hyperthermia – susceptible patients and correlation with genotype and phenotype".

Maxwell J. Smith (Dalla Lana School of Public Health and Joint Centre for Bioethics), is the recipient of the 2012 CIHR Douglas Kinsella Doctoral Award for Research in Bioethics. This award is offered annually to the highest ranking CIHR Doctoral Research Award or Canada Graduate Scholarships Doctoral Award applicant whose research focuses on ethical issues related to health and/or health research. As part of his research, Mr. Maxwell will examine some of the ethical issues around public health emergency preparedness and response.

Julio Aguiar, Chris Bibby, Emmery Cheung, Wally Goodwin, Janet Koecher, Sterling Lau, Iulia Park and Brian Ruryk, are the recipients of a University of Toronto 2012 Excellence Through Innovation Award for their work as a team on lecture videoconferencing for the Mississauga Academy of Medicine initiative. This award is presented in recognition of the vital role played by members of the university in its vision of being among the world's foremost public universities and an institution that nurtures the creative and analytical capacity of its students at all levels.

University of Toronto Scarborough

Professor **Steve Joordens**, Psychology, has won an Ontario Confederation of Faculty Associations (OCUFA) Teaching Award which recognizes outstanding teaching at Ontario universities. Five awards, out of a possible total of seven, were awarded

Professor **Balazs Szegedy**, Mathematics & Department of Computer & Mathematical Sciences (UTSC) has been awarded one of this year's Fulkerson Prizes. Balazs won this prestigious prize in the field of Discrete Mathematics for an important paper with Laszlo Lovasz, a former winner of the Wolf and Kyoto Prizes.