UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Monday, May 14, 2012 at 4:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present.

Dr. Françoise Ko (UTAA) (Chair) Mr. Scott MacKendrick (Engineering) (Vice-Chair)

Mr. Ryan Ackers (University College)

Ms Jeannie An (Information)

Dr. Alexandra Berezowskyj (Medicine)

Ms Carol Bisnath (UTM)

Mr. Bob Boeckner (University College)

Ms Sadia Butt (Forestry) Mr. Corwin Cambray (SGS)

Ms L. Diane Dyer (Victoria College)

Mr. Tye Farrow (Architecture)

Ms Tammy Fernandes (University College)

Ms Bobbie France (Woodsworth College)

Ms Sue Graham-Nutter (UTSC)

Mr. Aran Hamilton (Rotman) Mr. Rodney Hurd (UTSC)

Dr. Francesca La Marca (St. Michael's College)

Mr. David Lucatch (UTSC) Dr. Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)

Ms Ceta Ramkhalawansingh (New College) Mr. John Richardson (Victoria College) Professor Peter Russell (Trinity College) Ms Denise Ryner (Woodsworth College) Ms Mary Shenstone (Trinity College) Dr. Malcolm Stewart (Social Work)

Ms Anne Venton (OISE)

Professor Emerita Judy Watt-Watson (Nursing)

Mr. Todd Will (OISE)

Mr. David Windross (Pharmacy)

Mr. Grant Worden (Law)

Regrets:

Ms Tiffany Chow (Engineering) Mr. David Clark (Victoria College) Ms Elizabeth Di Chiara (Physical Therapy

and Occupational Therapy) Mr. Norm Hann (Engineering) Rev. David Harrison (SGS) Mr. Craig Hegins (New) Dr. Sema Kenan (OISE)

Secretary: Ms Mae-Yu Tan Mr. Kristopher Kibsey (UTM)

Ms Sadia Mahmood (Public Health)

Ms Paula Paunic (Kinesiology and Physical

Education)

Mr. Al Smith (UTM)

Dr. Edward Thompson (OISE) Ms Joanne Uyede (Innis College) Ms Susan Wilson (Music)

In Attendance: Professor David Naylor, President, University of Toronto

Mr. Louis Charpentier, Secretary of the Governing Council

The College met *in camera* to consider items 3, 4 and 5.

1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – March 8, 2012

The minutes of the meeting of March 8, 2012 were approved.

2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the previous meeting.

3. Report of the Chancellor Search Committee

The Vice-Chair gave an overview of the Chancellor Search Committee's Report which was followed by the College's discussion of the Report.

4. Election of the Chancellor

The College held an election for the Chancellor by secret ballot. Once the ballots had been counted, the Chair announced that the Honourable Michael Wilson had been elected as Chancellor of the University of Toronto for a three-year term, effective July 1, 2012 until June 30, 2015.

5. Election of the 2012 - 2013 Executive Committee

At the invitation of the Chair, Ms Sadia Butt, a member of the 2011-2012 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC), presented the Committee's report.

(a) Vice-Chair

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

The College of Electors APPROVED

THAT Ms Sue Graham – Nutter be appointed Vice-Chair of the College of Electors for 2012-2013.

(b) Executive Members

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

The College of Electors APPROVED

THAT Mr. Corwin Cambray, Ms Ceta Ramkhalawansingh and Ms Mary Shenstone be appointed to the Executive Committee of the College of Electors for 2012-2013.

The College returned to open session.

The Chair congratulated the newly-elected members of the 2012-2013 Executive Committee and expressed her sincere thanks to Ms Sadia Butt, Ms Tiffany Chow and Mr. Aran Hamilton for their service on the 2011-2012 NC-EC.

6. Selection of the 2012-2013 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee

The Chair outlined the role of the NC-EC, which was composed of three individuals chosen by election or formed of volunteers from among members in their final year on the College. As the College had just seen, the NC-EC was responsible for recommending the Vice-Chair and three other members of the Executive Committee of the College. The NC-EC normally met once a year following the close of the Executive Committee nomination period to review the applications received and to develop its recommendations to the College. Mr. David Lucatch, Mr. John Richardson and Ms Anne Venton were selected to serve on the 2012-2013 NC-EC.

7. Evaluation of the 2011-2012 Alumni Governor Election Process

The Chair encouraged members to complete the survey on Alumni Governor Recruitment, Selection, and Election Process that had been created and posted online. The results would be reviewed and used to assist the Executive Committee in working to identify ways to improve the College's process in the coming year.

8. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair informed members that the next meeting of the College would be held in the Fall, 2012. The Secretary would notify members of the meeting dates for the year by email later in the summer.

9. Other Business

The Chair reminded members that they were welcome to attend meetings of the Governing Council and its Boards and Committees in order to gain a better understanding of the types of business items considered by central governance bodies. Mr. Charpentier noted that the upcoming meeting of the Governing Council on May 17th would be an informative one for members to attend as the Vice-President and Provost would report on the *Towards 2030: The View from 2012* framework. A member reported on a governance meeting that she had attended.

The Chair thanked members of the Executive Committee who had been so generous with their time and advice throughout the past year. She also thanked all members of the College for their service and acknowledged those whose terms would end as of June 30, 2012 including the following.

- Mr. Scott MacKendrick, Vice Chair (Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering)
- Mr. Aran Hamilton, Executive Committee (Joseph L. Rotman School of Management)
- Rev. David Harrison, Executive Committee (School of Graduate Studies)
- Ms Tiffany Chow (Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering)
- Ms Sadia Butt (Faculty of Forestry)
- Mr. Craig Hegins (New College)
- Prof. Emeritus Peter Russell (Trinity College)

9. Other Business (cont'd)

Mr. Charpentier thanked the Chair on behalf of the Governing Council for her support of and dedication to the University over the years. Since 2007, she had worked tirelessly as Chair of the College and Chair of the majority of its standing committees to guide the alumni governor recruitment and election process. She had facilitated a number of initiatives designed to strengthen the function of the College and had led both the 2008-09 Chancellor Review/Search Committee and the 2011-12 Chancellor Search Committee. An engraved University of Toronto chair would be given to the Chair as a token of appreciation for her service. The Vice-Chair also thanked the Chair for the great leadership and grace that she had demonstrated over the years. The College applauded the Chair.

	The meeting a	The meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.		
Secretary		Chair		
August 7, 2012				