UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 184 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

June 28, 2012

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Thursday, June 28, 2012, at 3:00 p.m. in the Forster Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair) Ms Virginia Coons Dr. Avrum Gotlieb Professor Cheryl Misak Ms Judith Poë Professor Cheryl Regehr Professor Charmaine Williams

Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Professor Hugh Gunz Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak

With the agreement of members, the Summer Executive Authority item was added to the agenda as item 3.

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 183 of the meeting of June 12, 2012 was approved.

2. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

The Chair reported that, following the previous meeting, Ms Sheree Drummond, Assistant Provost, had confirmed the correctness of the length of term of Professor Virginia Maclaren's appointment as Chair of the Graduate Department of Geography from July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015 (a two-year term over three years including a year of administrative leave).

3. Summer Executive Authority

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried,

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the Agenda Committee will consider academic administrative appointments for approval by means of an electronic ballot after the Committee's last scheduled meeting of 2011-2012 and before its first scheduled meeting in the Fall, 2012. Approval will require the response of a minimum of five members of the Committee.

4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next Committee meeting would be held in the Fall, 2012.

5. Other Business

Chair's Concluding Remarks

The Chair commented that the Committee had held many valuable discussions over the course of the year in considering numerous academic administrative appointments and in planning for Academic Board meetings. She expressed her appreciation to each of the members of the Committee for their contributions. The Chair acknowledged Professor Misak in her role as Senior Assessor to the Committee, Professor Gunz in his role as Vice-Chair, and Ms Drummond and Dr. Harrison's contributions to the Committee's work. The Chair noted that Ms Coons and Professor Williams would complete their terms on the Committee at the end of June and thanked them for their service. She also thanked the Secretary for her support of the Committee.

Information Session

A member asked that Professor Misak give a short presentation to the Academic Board about the University's process for receiving donations. She recalled that this topic had been suggested some time ago, but it had not been possible for such a presentation to be given this year. Professor Misak stated that she would be pleased to do so.

The Committee moved in camera.

6. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried,

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following academic administrative appointments:

FACULTY OF LAW

Professor Ian Lee	Associate Dean, J.D. Program
	July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor John M.A. Bohnen	Vice Dean, Clinical Affairs September 1, 2012 to August 31, 2017 (re-appointment)	
Professor Peter Burns	Chair and Graduate Chair Department of Medical Biophysics July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017 (re-appointment)	
Professor David J. McKnight	Associate Dean, Equity and Professionalism July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017 (re-appointment)	
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH		
Professor Daniel Bender	Chair, Department of Historical and Cultural Studies	

Toressor Damer Bender	July 1, 2012 – June 30, 2014
Professor William Bowen	Chair, Department of Arts, Culture and Media July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2018 (five-year term over six years including two six-month administrative leaves)
Professor Clare Hasenkampf	Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2018 (five-year term over six years, includes a one-year administrative leave)
Professor Paul Kingston	Director, Centre for Critical Development Studies July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015
Professor Michael Lambek	Chair, Department of Anthropology July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015
Professor Andre Sorensen	Chair, Department of Human Geography July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

Professor Grace Skogstad	Chair, Department of Political Science July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2016
Professor David Zweig	Interim Chair, Department of Management July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013 (re-appointment)

The meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Secretary June 29, 2012 Chair