UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 181 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

May 1, 2012

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, May 1, 2012, at 2:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair)	
	Ms Virginia Coons	
	Dr. Avrum Gotlieb	
	Professor Cheryl Misak	
	Ms Judith Poë*	
	Professor Cheryl Regehr	
	Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak	
	Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary	
Regrets:	Professor Hugh Gunz	
	Professor Charmaine Williams	
In Attendance:	Ms Sheree Drummond, Assistant Provost Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the Vice-	
	President and Provost	

*participated by teleconference

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 180 of the meeting of April 10, 2012 was approved.

2. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the Report of the previous meeting.

3. 2011-2012 Academic Board Evaluation Survey

Members reviewed the survey that had been distributed to the Academic Board in June, 2011 and concluded that it would be appropriate to ask Board members to fill out the same survey in June, 2012. The online survey had been simple to complete and the comments provided by members had been valuable in assessing the Board's effectiveness and members' views on Board processes.

4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the date of the next Committee meeting was Tuesday, May 22, 2012, from 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room.

5. Other Business

There were no items of Other Business.

The Committee moved in camera.

6. Academic Administrative Appointments

The Committee was informed that the terms of two appointments that it had previously approved had been revised as follows.

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Howard Hu	Director, Dalla Lana School of Public Health and Chair, Department of Public Health Sciences July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017 (revised)
Professor Sarita Verma	Acting Dean July 1, 2012 to August 31, 2012 and November 1, 2012 to November 30, 2012 (revised)

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following academic administrative appointments:

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Robert Andersen	Chair, Department of Sociology July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017			
Professor Virginia Maclaren	Chair, Department of Geography (renewal) July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2018 (five-year term over six years, including a year of administrative leave)			
FACULTY OF MEDICINE				
Professor Steffen-Sebastian Bolz	Acting Chair, Department of Physiology July 1 to December 31, 2012			
Professor Denis Grant	Chair and Graduate Chair Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology (extension) July 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012			
Professor Ruth Ross	Chair and Graduate Chair Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2017			
SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES				
Professor Edward Banning	Chair, Graduate Department of Anthropology July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2018 (five-year term over six years, including a year of research and study leave)			
Professor Louis Pauly	Chair, Graduate Department of Political Science July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017 (four-year term over five years,			

Professor Nicholas Terpstra

Chair, Graduate Department of History July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2018

including a year of approved leave)

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor David FleetChair, Department of Computer and Mathematical Sciences
July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017Professor Andrew MasonChair, Department of Biological Sciences
July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 2:15 p.m.

Secretary May 15, 2012 Chair