UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Thursday, March 8, 2012 at 4:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present.

Dr. Françoise Ko (UTAA) (Chair)

Mr. Scott MacKendrick (Engineering)

(Vice-Chair)

Ms Jeannie An (Information)

Mr. Bob Boeckner (University College)

Ms Sadia Butt (Forestry)

Mr. Corwin Cambray (SGS)

Ms Tiffany Chow (Engineering)
Mr. David Clark (Victoria College)

Ms Elizabeth Di Chiara (Physical Therapy

and Occupational Therapy)

Ms L. Diane Dyer (Victoria College)

Mr. Tye Farrow (Architecture)

Ms Tammy Fernandes (University College)

Ms Bobbie France (Woodsworth College)

Ms Sue Graham-Nutter (UTSC)

Mr. Aran Hamilton (Rotman)

Rev. David Harrison (SGS) Mr. Rodney Hurd (UTSC)

Regrets:

Mr. Ryan Ackers (University College)

Dr. Alexandra Berezowskyj (Medicine)

Ms Carol Bisnath (UTM)

Mr. Norm Hann (Engineering)

Dr. Francesca La Marca (St. Michael's

College)

Ms Sadia Mahmood (Public Health)

Ms Paula Paunic (Physical Education and

Health)

Dr. Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)

Ms Ceta Ramkhalawansingh (New College)

Mr. John Richardson (Victoria College)

Professor Peter Russell (Trinity College)

Ms Denise Ryner (Woodsworth College)

Ms Mary Shenstone (Trinity College)

Mr. Al Smith (UTM)

Dr. Edward Thompson (OISE)

Ms Anne Venton (OISE)

Professor Emerita Judy Watt-Watson

(Nursing)

Mr. Todd Will (OISE)

Ms Susan Wilson (Music)

Mr. Grant Worden (Law)

Mr. Craig Hegins (New)

Dr. Sema Kenan (OISE)

Mr. Kristopher Kibsey (UTM)

Mr. David Lucatch (UTSC)

Dr. Malcolm Stewart (Social Work)

Ms Joanne Uyede (Innis College)

Mr. David Windross (Pharmacy)

Secretary: Ms Mae-Yu Tan

The College met *in camera* to consider items 3 and 4.

1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – February 15, 2012

The minutes of the meeting of February 15, 2012 were approved.

2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the previous meeting.

3. Discussion of Alumni Governor Candidates

The Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee's recommendations. Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

4. Election of the Alumni Members of the Governing Council

The following alumni members of the Governing Council were elected.

Mr. W. John Switzer, re-elected for a second term from July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015. Bachelor of Arts, University of Toronto (Erindale College), 1970; Master of Business Administration, York University, 1974.

Mr. Andrew Szende, term from July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015. Bachelor of Arts, University of Toronto (University College), 1967; Master of Social Science, National University of Singapore, 1985.

The College returned to open session.

5. Nominations for the 2012-13 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2012-13 Executive Committee. The application deadline was Tuesday, April 10, 2012.

6. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair informed members that the next regularly scheduled meeting of the College would be held on Monday, May 14, 2012, from 4:00 - 6:00 p.m.

7. Other Business

A member reported on a recent Business Board meeting that he had attended and members discussed issues regarding tuition fees and provincial funding.

| The Chair thanked members for their time and their contributions to the deliberations | that | evening |
|---|------|---------|

| | The meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m. | |
|-----------------------------|------------------------------------|--|
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| Secretary April 27, 2012 | Chair | |