UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 180 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

April 10, 2012

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, April 10, 2012, at 2:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair)		
	Ms Virginia Coons		
	Professor Hugh Gunz*		
	Professor Cheryl Misak		
	Ms Judith Poë*		
	Professor Cheryl Regehr		
	Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak		
	Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary		
Regrets:	Dr. Avrum Gotlieb		
	Professor Charmaine Williams		
In Attendance:	Professor Elizabeth Cowper, Member of the Governing Council and Vice-Chair of the Planning and Budget Committee		
	Ms Sheree Drummond, Assistant Provost		
	Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the Vice-		
	President and Provost		

*participated by teleconference

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 179 of the meeting of March 6, 2012 was approved.

2. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the Report of the previous meeting.

3. Academic Board Agenda – Thusday, April 19, 2012

Members reviewed the draft agenda for the April 19, 2012 Academic Board meeting. The Committee agreed that Professor Misak should give a brief presentation to the Board on *The View From 2012* prior to the Board's discussion. In reference to the proposal to disestablish the existing Centre for Environment (EDU: B) and to establish the School of the Environment as an EDU: B a member commented that the Faculty of Medicine offered a collaborative program in the Environment and Health. The member stated that, although the Faculty had been contacted very recently about the proposal, she was not aware that the Faculty had been consulted during the development of the proposal. Upon further discussion, the draft agenda was approved.

Members reviewed the Calendar of Business for the Academic Board. It was noted that a proposal for the departmentalization of two University of Toronto Scarborough academic units (Humanities and Social Sciences) would be considered at the Board's final meeting of the year on May 31, 2012.

4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the date of the next Committee meeting was Tuesday, May 1, 2012, from 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room. The purpose of the meeting would be to consider a number of recommended academic administrative appointments.

5. Other Business

There were no items of Other Business.

The Committee moved in camera.

6. Academic Administrative Appointments

The Committee was informed that the term of an appointment that it had previously approved for Professor Howard Hu to serve as Director of the Dalla Lana School of Public Health and Chair of the Department of Public Health Sciences had been altered slightly at Professor Hu's request to August 1, 2012 to July 31, 2017 from July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following academic administrative appointments:

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Edward Banning	Chair, Department of Anthropology July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2018 (five-year term over six years including a year of research and study leave)
Professor Craig Fraser	Interim Director, Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology (IHPST) (renewal) July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013, or until a new Director is appointed, whichever comes first
Professor John Kloppenborg	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department for the Study of Religion (renewal) July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2019 (five-year term over seven years including two one-year leaves)
Professor Louis Pauly	Chair, Department of Political Science July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017 (four-year term over five years including a year of approved leave)
Professor Nick Terpstra	Chair, Department of History July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2018
FACULTY OF DENTISTRY	
Professor Daniel Haas	Dean July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017
FACULTY OF MEDICINE	
Professor Ian Witterick	Chair, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017
Professor Juan Carlos Zúñiga-Pflücker	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Immunology July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION

Professor Eric Bredo	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013
Professor Esther Geva	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013
Professor Douglas McDougall	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013
Professor Rinaldo Walcott	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Humanities, Social Sciences and Social Justice Education July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Luc De Nil	Vice-Dean, Students
	July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA

Professor Meredyth Daneman	Chair, Department of Psychology July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2014 (renewal)
Professor Bernard Katz	Acting Vice-Dean, Graduate July 1, 2012 – June 30, 2013

The meeting adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

Secretary April 16, 2012 Chair