UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 174 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTE

June 28, 2011

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, June 28, 2011, at 1:30 p.m. in the Forster Room, Room 229, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair) Dr. Avrum Gotlieb Ms Jemy Joseph Professor Cheryl Misak Ms Judith Poë* Professor Cheryl Regehr Professor Yves Roberge Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak

Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Professor Louise Lemieux-Charles

*joined by teleconference

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 173 of the Agenda Committee meeting of June 9, 2011 was approved.

2. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arriving from the Report of the previous meeting.

3. Electronic Approvals

The Chair noted that following the Committee's previous meeting, there had been need, because of time constraints, to consider three academic administrative appointments by means of electronic ballot. She read the resolutions of June 22, 2011 into the record.

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Ato Quayson	Director, Centre for Diaspora and Transnational Studies
	July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2017 (includes a one-year leave)

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Avrum Gotlieb	Acting Vice-Dean, Graduate Affairs
	July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Arthur Ripstein	Chair, Graduate Department of Philosophy
	July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014

4. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair stated the next meeting would be held in the Fall, 2011.

5. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved *in camera*.

6. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor Christopher J Damaren	Vice-Dean, Graduate (extension) July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2013
Professor Susan McCahan	Vice-Dean, Undergraduate September 15, 2011 to June 30, 2016
Professor David Zingg	Director Institute for Aerospace Studies (renewal) July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Graham Sanders	Acting Chair and Graduate Chair Department of East Asian Studies July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012
Professor Nicholas Terpstra	Acting Director Centre for Diaspora and Transnational Studies July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor R. Roy Baker	Acting Chair Department of Biochemistry July 1, 2011 to September 30, 2011
Professor Brian Kavanagh	Chair Department of Anesthesia (renewal) July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2017

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION

Professor Ruth Childs	Associate Dean, Innovations and Opportunities July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016
Professor Jeanne Watson	Associate Dean, Programs July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2016

(inclusive of one-year administrative leave)

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

LAWRENCE S. BLOOMBERG FACULTY OF NURSING

Professor Linda McGillis Hall Associate Dean, Research and External Relations January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2018 (renewal)

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Secretary July 4, 2011 Chair