UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 173 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTE

June 9, 2011

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Thursday, June 9, 2011, at 9:05 a.m. in the Falconer Room, Room 107C, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair)	
	Dr. Avrum Gotlieb	
	Ms Jemy Joseph	
	Professor Cheryl Misak	
	Professor Cheryl Regehr	
	Professor Yves Roberge	
	Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak	
	Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary	

- Regrets: Professor Louise Lemieux-Charles Ms Judith Poë
- In Attendance: Ms Sheree Drummond, Assistant Provost Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the Vice-President and Provost

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 172 of the Agenda Committee meeting of May 20, 2011 was approved.

2. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arriving from the Report of the previous meeting.

3. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair stated the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, June 28, 2011 from 1:30 to 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room, Simcoe Hall.

4. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

59636

The Committee moved in camera.

5. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Thomas Keirstead	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of East Asian Studies July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016 (includes a one-year administrative leave)
Professor Anna Korteweg	Acting Director, Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012
Professor Anil Verma	Director Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2015 (includes a 6-month leave)
Professor Salvatore Bancheri	Chair, Department of Italian July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016
Professor Janice Stein	Director, Munk School of Global Affairs July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012 (or until a new Director is appointed, whichever is first); extension
Professor Arthur Ripstein	Chair, Department of Philosophy July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Salvatore Bancheri	Chair, Graduate Department of Italian July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016
Professor Russell Pysklywec	Chair, Graduate Department of Geology July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2015
Professor Mary Lou Smith	Acting Chair, Graduate Department of Psychology July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012
Professor Jeffrey Steele	Chair, Graduate Department of French July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016

5. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

FACULTY OF LAW

Professor Benjamin Alarie	Associate Dean, First Year Program July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014			
JOSEPH L. ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT				
Professor Peter Pauly	Vice-Dean, Academic July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014 (renewal)			
Professor Jim Fisher	Vice-Dean, Programs July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2013 (renewal)			
FACULTY OF MEDICINE				
Professor Dimitri Anastakis	Acting Vice-Dean, Continuing Education and Professional Development July 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011			
Professor Jeffrey Hurwitz	Chair, Department of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012 (or until a new Chair is appointed, whichever comes first) (extension)			
Professor Louise Lemieux-Charles	Interim Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Public Health Sciences and Interim Director, Dalla Lana School of Public Health (extension) July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012 (or until a new Director is appointed, whichever comes first)			
Professor Conrad Liles	Acting Chair, Department of Medicine September 1, 2011 to November 30, 2011			

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA

Professor Kelly Hannah-Moffat	Vice-Dean, Undergraduate
	August 15, 2011 – June 30, 2015 (includes a one-year
	administrative leave)

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 9:20 a.m.

Secretary June 9, 2011 Chair