## UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

### THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

## **REPORT 172 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTE**

#### May 20, 2011

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Friday, May 20, 2011, at 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room, Room 229, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair) Dr. Avrum Gotlieb Professor Cheryl Misak Ms Judith Poë Professor Yves Roberge Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak

Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

- Regrets: Ms Jemy Joseph Professor Louise Lemieux-Charles Professor Cheryl Regehr
- In Attendance: Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the Vice-President and Provost

#### 1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Item 4 - Academic Board Agenda - Thursday, April 26, 2011

The Chair noted that a member had suggested one amendment to the reported discussion of the *Policy on the Student Evaluation of Teaching in Courses* on page 3 of Report Number 171 of the Agenda Committee.

The following two sentences were inserted before the final sentence in the paragraph:

A member suggested that more of the details on this matter should be included in the *Policy* rather than be relegated to the *Guidelines*. This was especially important, as the *Guidelines* were not intended to be brought through governance.

The Report of the meeting of April 15, 2011, as amended, was approved.

#### 2. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arriving from the Report of the previous meeting.

#### **3.** Approval by Electronic Ballot

The Chair noted that following the Committee's previous meeting, there had been need, because of time constraints, to consider one academic administrative appointment by means of electronic ballot. She read the resolution of May 3, 2011 into the record.

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointment:

## FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Dennis Daneman	Chair, Department of Paediatrics
	July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016 (renewal)

#### 4. Academic Board Agenda – Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Members reviewed and approved the draft agenda for the June 1st Board meeting. During the discussion of the proposal to delegate responsibility for the Connaught Committee, a committee of the Governing Council, to the Vice-President, Research, a member suggested that the Vice-President, Research be encouraged to include information about the work of the Connaught Committee in his annual report. The member praised the summary format of the Semi-Annual Report of the University Tribunal Individual Cases, and she suggested that a similar format be considered for the Semi-Annual Report of the Academic Appeals Committee Individual Cases. The Committee agreed that it would be valuable to ask members of the Academic Board to complete a feedback form, as had been done in the previous year. The template for the evaluation form that had been developed on the recommendation of the Implementation Committee could be used when updating questions from the 2010 Academic Board form.

#### 5. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair asked members to continue to hold the reserve meeting date of Tuesday, June 28, 2011 from 2:00 to 3:00 p.m. as there would likely be need for the Committee to consider recommendations for academic administrative appointments prior to July 1st. The Secretary would inform members closer to the date whether or not a meeting would be needed. It was expected that some recommended appointments would need to be reviewed prior to the June 28<sup>th</sup> meeting, and members agreed to consider those by e-mail ballot.

The next regular Committee meeting would be held in the Fall, 2011.

#### 6. Other Business

#### a) Summer Executive Authority

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the Agenda Committee will approve academic administrative appointments by means of an electronic ballot after the Committee's last scheduled meeting of 2010-11 and before its first scheduled meeting in the Fall 2011. Approval will require the response of a minimum of five members of the Committee.

#### b) Chair's Concluding Remarks

The Chair noted that Ms Jemy Joseph and Professor Yves Roberge would be completing their terms on the Agenda Committee at the end of June and thanked them for their service. The Chair also expressed appreciation to all of the members of the Committee for their valuable contribution over the past year.

The Committee moved in camera.

# 7. 2011-2012 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and the Academic Appeals Committee Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the following individuals be appointed to the 2011-2012 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and the Academic Appeals Committee for a term from July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012.

Professor Mayo Moran, Chair and President's designate
Professor Edward Iacobucci, teaching staff member-elect of the Governing Council
Mr. Olivier Sorin, former student member of the Governing Council and the
Academic Board
Ms Maureen Simpson, former alumni member of the Academic Board

# 8. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

# YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

## FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor Mark T. Kortschot	Chair, Division of Engineering Science
	July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016

# FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Randall Hansen	Director, Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017
Professor Timothy Harrison	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016
Professor Donald Jackson	Interim Director, Centre for Environment July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012 (extension)
Professor Peter G. Martin	Acting Vice-Dean, Research and Graduate Programs July 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011
Professor Donna Tussing Orwin	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2017 (Five year term over six years that includes two six-month leaves)
Professor Russell Pysklywec	Chair, Department of Geology July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2015
Professor Jeffrey Steele	Chair, Department of French July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016
Professor Maxim Tarnawsky	Acting Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures July 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011 (while the Chair and Graduate Chair is on leave)
Dr. Ronald G. Wilson Jr.	Interim Director, Human Biology Program July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012

# 8. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

# FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Luigi E. Girolametto	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Speech-Language Pathology July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016	
Professor Allan S. Kaplan	Director, Institute of Medical Science July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016	
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA		
Professor Gurpreet Rattan	Acting Chair, Department of Philosophy August 1, 2011 to July 31, 2012	
Professor Sergio Tenenbaum	Chair, Department of Philosophy August 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015	

## UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor David Zweig	Chair, Department of Management
	July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 2:50 p.m.

Secretary May 20, 2011 Chair