UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 170 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTE

March 8, 2011

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, March 8, 2011, at 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room, Room 229, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Ellen Hodnett (Chair) Professor Louise Lemieux-Charles Professor Cheryl Misak Ms Judith Poë Professor Cheryl Regehr Professor Yves Roberge Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak

Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

- Regrets: Dr. Avrum Gotlieb Ms Jemy Joseph
- In Attendance: Ms Sheree Drummond, Assistant Provost Dr. Jane Harrison, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the Vice-President and Provost

1. Reports of the Previous Meetings

Reports Number 168 (January 18, 2011) and 169 (February 11, 2011) were approved.

2. Business Arising from the Reports of the Previous Meetings

There was no business arriving from the Reports of the previous meetings.

3. Approvals by Electronic Ballot

Approvals by Electronic Ballot

The Chair noted that following the Committee's meeting of January 18th, there had been need, because of time constraints, to consider three academic administrative appointments by means of electronic ballot. She read the resolutions into the record.

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments by means of an electronic ballot on February 8, 2011:

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Bonnie McElhinny	Director, Women and Gender Studies Institute (<i>renewal</i>) July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2014 (includes a one-year administrative leave from July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2012)
Professor Kumar Murty	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Mathematics (<i>renewal</i>) July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2013
Professor Locke Rowe	Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology <i>(renewal)</i> July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2013 (includes a six-month leave from July 1, 2011 – December 31, 2011)

4. Academic Board Agenda – Thursday, March 17, 2011

The Chair noted that she would be out of the country and would be unable to attend the March 17th Academic Board meeting. However, the Vice-Chair had kindly agreed to Chair that meeting on her behalf. Members reviewed and approved the draft agenda for the March 17th Board meeting. During the discussion of the content of the Report of the Vice-President and Provost, members agreed that it would be valuable for Professor Misak to speak at one of the remaining Board meetings about philanthropy at the University and donor agreements, given the recent attention that topic had received within the University community. It was noted that the Committee on Academic Policy and Programs (AP&P) had received for information at its meeting of March 1st, the Semi-Annual Report on the Reviews of Academic Programs and Units. The Report of that meeting would be provided for information to the Board at its meeting of April 26th, once it had been completed.

5. Calendars of Business

Members reviewed the Calendars of Business for the Agenda Committee and the Academic Board. It was anticipated that some divisional academic program proposals would be brought forward for consideration by central governance bodies in cycle 5 or cycle 6, as academic units proceeded to implement aspects of their academic plans.

6. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next Committee meeting would be held on Friday, April 15, 2011 from 2:00 to 3:00 p.m. in the Forster Room, Simcoe Hall.

7. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved in camera.

8. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments.

FACULTY OF LAW

Professor Edward Iacobucci	Associate Dean, Research
	March 15, 2011 to June 30, 2013

JOSEPH L. ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT

Professor Mihnea Moldoveanu	Associate Dean, MBA Programs
	July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2015

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Glen Bandiera	Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education
	July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2016

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA

Professor Bryan Stewart	Chair, Department of Biology
	July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2014

8. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

Professor Edward Schatz	Chair, Department of Political Science July 1, 2012 – June 30, 2015
Professor Graham White	Acting Chair, Department of Political Science July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2012

LAWRENCE S. BLOOMBERG FACULTY OF NURSING

Professor Linda McGillis Hall	Acting Dean
	July 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

Secretary March 8, 2011 Chair