UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Thursday, March 25, 2010 at 4:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Dr. Françoise Ko (In the Chair) Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, Vice-Chair (SGS) Mr. Doug Allen (Architecture, Landscape, and Design) Dr. Pauline Blendick (OISE) Ms Sadia Butt (Forestry) Ms Ruhee Chaudhry (Community Health) Dr. Don H. Cowan (Medicine) Ms L. Diane Dyer (Victoria) Ms Celeste Francis (Woodsworth) Dr. Magdalena Goledzinowska (SGS) Ms Sue Graham-Nutter (Scarborough) Mr. Norm Hann (Engineering) Ms Erica Henderson (University) Ms Victoria Hurlihey (University) Mr. Scott MacKendrick (Engineering) Dr. Claire Mallette (Nursing) Mr. Michael Meth (Information) Mr. John Minardi (St. Michael's)

Regrets:

Dr. Vic Chiasson (Innis) Ms Tiffany Chow(Engineering) Professor Mary Condon (SGS) Mr. Aran Hamilton (Rotman) Mr. Craig Hegins (New) Mr. Peter Murchison (Social Work) Ms Florence Newman (Victoria) Mr. Lennox Phillips (Mississauga) Ms Linda Prytula (Pharmacy) Mr. Devin S. Ragwen (Scarborough) Mr. John Richardson (Victoria) Professor Peter Russell (Trinity) Ms Barbara Salmon (Physiotherapy & Occupational Therapy) Mr. Gordon Shantz (Mississauga) Mr. Al Smith (Mississauga) Dr. Valerie Stavro (Dentistry) Ms Ann Sullivan (St. Michael's) Mr. Colin Swift (New) Ms Anne Venton (OISE) Mr. Todd Will (OISE) Ms Susan O Wilson (Music) Mr. Jason Wong (University) Mr. William Wrigley (Woodsworth)

Dr. Sema Kenan (OISE) Mr. Paul Morrison (Law) Ms Paula Paunic (Physical Education and Health) Mr. Rajesh Uttamchandani (SGS) Mr. Rob Wulkan (Scarborough)

Secretary: Ms Mae-Yu Tan

The College met in camera to consider items 4, 5, and 6.

1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – March 4, 2010

The minutes of the meeting of March 4, 2010, which were corrected to note that Mr. Paul Morrison had been in attendance, were approved.

2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the previous meeting.

3. Review of Interview Procedures

The Chair stated that Mr. Brian Burchell, a former alumni member of Governing Council, would greet each interview candidate and wait with him/her until it was time for the thirty-minute interview. During that time, he would also verify candidates' proof of Canadian citizenship. The Chair then reviewed the interview procedures and highlighted some of the criteria identified by the Chair of the Governing Council which members should consider during the candidate interviews.

On motion duly moved and seconded, the College moved in camera to interview the candidates.

4. Interviews of the Candidates

The College interviewed the candidates for alumni governors.

5. Discussion of the Candidates

The College had a full discussion of each of the candidates.

6. Election of the Alumni Members of the Governing Council

The following alumni were elected for a three-year term on the Governing Council, beginning July 1, 2010.

- Mr. Nykolaj Kuryluk
- Professor Emeritus Michael Marrus
- Ms Maureen Somerville

The College returned to open session.

7. Review of Interview Process

The Chair stated that feedback about the revised interview process and questions would be sought electronically from members over the next few weeks.

8. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair informed members that the next meeting of the College would be held in the fall. Members would be advised as soon as the 2010-11 meeting schedule of the College had been set. The Chair asked continuing members to keep their binders for use in the following year.

9. Other Business

a) Recognition of the Executive Committee

The Chair thanked the members of the Executive Committee for their valuable input and assistance in the past year. The members of the Committee included the following.

Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, Vice Chair Mr. Doug Allen Ms Ruhee Chaudhry, who was completing her term on the College Ms Victoria Hurlihey

55753

9. Other Business (cont'd)

b) Recognition of Members

The Chair also acknowledged those members whose terms would end on June 30, 2010 or who were stepping down for various reasons.

Professor Mary Condon (SGS) Dr. Don Cowan (Medicine) Dr. Magdalena Goledzinowska (SGS) Mr. Lennox Phillips (UTM) Mr. Gordon Shantz (UTM) Mr. Colin Swift (New College) Mr. Rajesh Uttamchandani (SGS) Mr. William Wrigley (Woodsworth College)

She thanked the members for their dedication over the past years to the College and asked them to help recruit replacements for the College from their respective divisions for 2010-2011. The Chair also thanked the Secretary for her support during the year.

Members thanked the Chair for her gracious and remarkable leadership and spoke to the great enjoyment they had derived from serving on the College.

The meeting adjourned at 9:00 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

April 7, 2010

3