UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 159 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

January 19, 2010

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, January 19, 2010, at 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room, Room 229, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Louise Lemieux-Charles (Chair)	
	Professor Varouj Aivazian	
	Professor Elizabeth Cowper	
	Ms Saswati Deb	
	Professor Avrum Gotlieb, Chair, Planning and Budget Committee	
	Professor Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost	
	Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-Provost, Academic Programs	
	Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak, Chair, Committee on Academic Policy and	
	Programs	
	Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary	
Regrets:	Professor Doug Reeve	
In Attendance:	 Professor Angela Hildyard, Vice-President, Human Resources and Equity Ms Sheree Drummond, Assistant Provost Mr. Anwar Kazimi, Committee Secretary, Office of the Governing Council Ms Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Academic Programs and Policy, Office of the Vice-President and Provost 	

The Committee moved in camera to engage in a discussion with Professor Hildyard.

The Committee returned to open session.

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 158 of the meeting held on November 3, 2009 was approved.

2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the report of the previous meeting.

3. Approvals by Electronic Ballot

The Chair noted that following the Committee's previous meeting, there had been need, because of time constraints, to consider four academic administrative appointments by means of electronic ballot. She read the resolutions into the record.

3. Approvals by Electronic Ballot (cont'd)

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments by means of an electronic ballot on November 30, 2009:

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Norm Rosenblum	Associate Dean, Physician Scientist Training
	November 1, 2009 to October 31, 2014

LESLIE DAN FACULTY OF PHARMACY

Professor Zubin Austin

Associate Dean, Academic November 1, 2009 to October 31, 2014

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointment by means of an electronic ballot on December 18, 2009:

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Salvatore M. Spadafora

Vice-Dean, Post Graduate Medical Education January 1, 2010 to December 31, 2014

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointment by means of an electronic ballot on January 5, 2010:

FACULTY OF PHYSICAL EDUCATION AND HEALTH

Professor Ira Jacobs

Dean July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2015

4. Academic Board Agenda – Thursday, January 28, 2010

Members reviewed the agenda for the January 28, 2010 Academic Board meeting. The Chair noted that, following the significant evolution of the structure and approach of the Performance Indicators for Governance Annual Report, the Report had been presented to the Academic Board for a number of years to ensure broad exposure within the University community. The Agenda Committee decided that it was no longer necessary for the Report to be presented to the Academic Board, as the Executive Committee and the Governing Council were the appropriate bodies to receive the Report. Interested members of Governing Council's Boards and Committees could view the Report on-line.

The Committee also agreed to place on the table at the Academic Board meeting correspondence from a member who had requested that her letter be distributed to the Board.

5. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room.

6. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved *in camera*.

7. Tribunal Selection Committee

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the following individuals be appointed members of the 2009-2010 Tribunal Selection Committee:

Professor Mayo Moran, Chair and President's designate Professor Arthur Ripstein, teaching staff member of the Governing Council Mr. Adam Heller, student member of the Academic Board Ms. Maureen Simpson, former alumni member of the Academic Board

8. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION

Department of Adult Education and Counselling Psychology			
Professor Jeanne Watson	Chair and Graduate Chair		
	July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2013		

FACTOR-INWENTASH FACULTY OF SOCIAL WORK

Professor Faye Mishna	Dean
	February 1, 2010 to June 30, 2015

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Jay Rosenfield	Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education
	July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2016 (Re-appointment)

8. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT MISSISSAUGA

Professor Hargurdeep (Deep) Saini Principal July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2015

The Committee returned to open session.

The meeting adjourned at 2:55 p.m.

Secretary January 19, 2010 Chair