UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 155 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

May 21, 2009

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Thursday, May 21, 2009, at 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room, Room 229, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Brian Corman (In the Chair)

Professor Avrum Gotlieb Chair, Planning and Budget Committee

* Professor Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost Professor Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost, Academic

Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak, Chair, Committee on Academic Policy and

Programs

Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Professor Ragnar Buchweitz

Professor Rick Halpern Professor Michael Marrus Ms Pamela Santora

In Attendance: Professor Varouj Aivazian, Member of Governing Council

Ms Sheree Drummond, Assistant Provost

Ms Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, Office of the Vice-

President and Provost

The Chair announced that, at the Governing Council meeting held the previous day, Professors Louise Lemieux-Charles and Varouj Aivazian had been appointed respectively Chair and Vice-Chair of the Academic Board for 2009-2010. The Chair congratulated Professor Aivazian on his appointment and noted that Professor Lemieux-Charles had been unable to attend the meeting.

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 154 of the meeting held on April 28, 2009 was approved.

2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the report of the previous meeting.

3. Academic Board Agenda – Monday, June 1, 2009 at 4:10 p.m.

Members reviewed and approved the draft agenda for the June 1st Academic Board meeting.

^{*} Participated by teleconference.

4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next meeting would be held on Monday, June 1, 2009 at 3:30 p.m., immediately prior to the Academic Board meeting. It would be necessary to consider a number of academic administrative appointments, as divisions were working to finalize appointments before the start of the academic year on July 1, 2009.

5. Other Business

a) Electronic Ballot

The Chair noted that, since the Committee's last meeting of April 28, 2009, there had been need, because of time constraints, to consider one academic administrative appointment by means of an electronic ballot. He read the motion from the ballot, which had been approved by the Agenda Committee on May 7, 2009, into the record in order to note the approval.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointment:

NEW COLLEGE

Professor Shahrzad Mojab Interim Principal

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010 or until a new Principal is

appointed, whichever comes first.

b) Summer Executive Authority

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

That the Committee will approve academic administrative appointments after the last scheduled meeting of 2008-09 and before the first scheduled meeting in the fall by means of an electronic ballot. Approval will require the response of a minimum of five members of the Committee.

The Committee moved in camera.

6. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor Farid N. Najm Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2014

Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Jean Zu Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2014

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Stephen Rupp Vice-Dean, Faculty and Academic Life

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2014

Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology

Professor Anjan Chakravartty Director

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2015

Department of Chemistry

Professor Robert Morris Interim Chair and Interim Graduate Chair

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010

Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures

Professor Stefan Soldovieri Acting Chair and Acting Graduate Chair

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010

Department of Italian Studies

Professor Luca Somigli Acting Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1 to December 31, 2009

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Leslie Nickell Associate Dean, Health Professions Student Affairs

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2014

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE - SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources

Professor Anil Verma Interim Director

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Tri-campus Graduate Department of Political Science

Professor David Cameron Chair

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2012 (Re-appointment)

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT MISSISSAUGA

Department of Chemical and	Physical Sciences
Professor Peter Macdonald	Chair

Professor Peter Macdonald

July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2014

The Committee returned to open session.

Closing Remarks

The Chair thanked members for their work during the past year and noted that Professor Ragnar n

	ck Halpern, and Ms Pamela Santora would be completing their service of e30, 2009.
	The meeting was adjourned at 2:40 p.m.
Secretary May 22, 2009	Chair