## MEMORANDUM

Date: April 9, 2009

To: Governing Council Academic Board Business Board University Affairs Board

From: Nancy Smart, Chief Returning Officer

- Re: Governing Council and Academic Board elections results
- CC: College of Electors Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs Professional/Managerial and Confidential Staff Association of Part-time Undergraduate Students Graduate Students' Union Scarborough Campus Students' Union University of Toronto Students' Union University of Toronto Faculty Association United Steelworkers of America University of Toronto Alumni Association

## **Governing Council Elections**

Student voting ended on March 20, 2009. The following students have been elected in their respective constituencies:

Graduate Students, Constituency I: Mr. Olivier Sorin Graduate Students, Constituency II: Mr. Gregory West Full-time Undergraduates, Arts and Science: Mr. Andrew Agnew-Iller & Ms. Margaret Kim Full-time Undergraduates, Professional Faculties: Mr. Ryan Campbell & Mr. Adam Heller Part-time Undergraduates: Mr. Kenneth Davy & Ms. Joeita Gupta

The election of a teaching staff member to Governing Council for Constituency VI (teaching staff who hold their major appointments in the Faculty of Dentistry, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, and the Faculty of Physical Education and Health) closed on March 27, 2009. Professor Ellen Hodnett received the greatest number of votes and is declared winner of the election.

The remaining Governing Council teaching staff seats were acclaimed.

The election of an administrative staff member to Governing Council closed on March 27, 2009. Ms. Diana Alli received the greatest number of votes and is declared winner of the election.

For a detailed review of the election results, including the names of all candidates, please see attached.

## **Academic Board Elections**

Vacant teaching staff seats on Academic Board were filled by acclamation.

The election of a librarian member to Academic Board closed on March 27, 2009. Ms. Bonnie Horne received the greatest number of votes and is declared winner of the election.

For a complete list of the new members of Academic Board, please see attached.

Please join me in thanking all of the candidates who participated in this year's elections, and congratulations to those who have been elected or acclaimed in their respective constituencies.