OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL



MEMORANDUM

Date: April 9, 2009

To: Governing Council Academic Board Business Board University Affairs Board

From: Nancy Smart, Chief Returning Officer

Re: Governing Council and Academic Board elections results

CC: College of Electors Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs Professional/Managerial and Confidential Staff Association of Part-time Undergraduate Students Graduate Students' Union Scarborough Campus Students' Union University of Toronto Students' Union University of Toronto Faculty Association United Steelworkers of America University of Toronto Alumni Association

Governing Council Elections

Student voting ended on March 20, 2009. The following students have been elected in their respective constituencies:

Graduate Students, Constituency I: Mr. Olivier Sorin Graduate Students, Constituency II: Mr. Gregory West Full-time Undergraduates, Arts and Science: Mr. Andrew Agnew-Iller & Ms. Margaret Kim Full-time Undergraduates, Professional Faculties: Mr. Ryan Campbell & Mr. Adam Heller Part-time Undergraduates: Mr. Kenneth Davy & Ms. Joeita Gupta

The election of a teaching staff member to Governing Council for Constituency VI (teaching staff who hold their major appointments in the Faculty of Dentistry, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, and the Faculty of Physical Education and Health) closed on March 27, 2009. Professor Ellen Hodnett received the greatest number of votes and is declared winner of the election.

The remaining Governing Council teaching staff seats were acclaimed.

The election of an administrative staff member to Governing Council closed on March 27, 2009. Ms. Diana Alli received the greatest number of votes and is declared winner of the election.

For a detailed review of the election results, including the names of all candidates, please see attached.

50581

Academic Board Elections

Vacant teaching staff seats on Academic Board were filled by acclamation.

The election of a librarian member to Academic Board closed on March 27, 2009. Ms. Bonnie Horne received the greatest number of votes and is declared winner of the election.

For a complete list of the new members of Academic Board, please see attached.

Please join me in thanking all of the candidates who participated in this year's elections, and congratulations to those who have been elected or acclaimed in their respective constituencies.

Governing Council Election Results: Students April 9, 2009

Graduate Students - Humanities/Social Sciences (Division 1 & 2)				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation Elected Number o			
			Votes per Candidate	
Sorin, Olivier	Humanities (French)	E	191	
Wong, Bernard Pui Lun	Social Sciences (Management)		111	
York, Thomas Paul	Humanities (Religion)		170	

Graduate Students - Physical and Life Sciences (Division 3 & 4)					
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation Elected Number of				
			Votes per Candidate		
Grenier, Jason	Physical Sciences (Electrical & Computer Eng.)		120		
Joseph, Jemy	Life Sciences (Medicine)		170		
West, Gregory	Life Sciences (Psychology)	E	730		

Full-time Undergraduates - Arts & Science, UTM, UTSC, TYP				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation	Elected	Number of Votes per Candidate	
Agnew-Iler, Andrew	Woodsworth College	E	580	
Boyko, Kyle	UTSC		526	
Bracciodieta, Erik	Trinity College		166	
Bradfield, Casey-Anne	New College		136	
Cadmus, Maximilian	Woodsworth College		252	
Darcovich, Anthony	Trinity College		534	
Dattu, Zayne	Victoria College		182	
Delitala, Albert	UTM		263	
Gonzales, Grant	St. Michael's College		528	
Handa, Vikram	Woodsworth College		455	
Hoving, Darryl	Innis College		124	
Jawaid, Areeba	St. Michael's College		246	
Kim, Min Hee (Margaret)	Trinity College	E	701	
Lee, Trevor (Changgun)	University College		249	
McConnell, Laura	Woodsworth College		279	
Motala, Michael	Trinity College		443	
Rebejko, Gregory	Woodsworth College		111	
Walji, Fariya	University College		379	

Governing Council Election Results: Students April 9, 2009

Full-time Undergraduates - Professional Faculties						
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation Elected Number of					
			Votes per Candidate			
Campbell, Ryan	Engineering	E	306			
Heller, Adam	Law	Acclaimed				
Pazionis, Alexander	Engineering		78			

Part-time Undergraduates				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation	Elected	Number of	
			Votes per Candidate	
Ahmed, Binish	New College		98	
Davy, Kenneth	Woodsworth College	E	141	
Gupta, Joeita	Victoria College	E	154	

Governing Council Election Results: Teaching Staff and Administrative Staff April 9, 2009

	Acclaimed Teaching Staff				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation	Constituency			
Gross Stein, Janice	Munk Centre	IB : All teaching staff members in the Faculty of Arts and Science who hold their major appointments in the Departments of Anthropology, Economics, Geography, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Centre for The Study of Religion			
Gough, Bill	Physical and Environmental Sciences	III: All teaching staff who hold their major appointments at the University of Toronto at Scarborough.			
Lemieux-Charles, Louise	Health Policy, Management & Evaluations	V: All teaching staff members who hold their major appointment in the Faculty of Medicine			

Elected Teaching Staff				
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation	Constituency	Elected	
Hodnett, Ellen	Nursing	VI: All teaching staff who hold their major appointments in the Faculty of Dentistry, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of	E	
Pennefather, Peter	Pharmacy	Nursing, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, and the Faculty of Physical Education and Health		

	Elected Administra	tive Staff	
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation	Constituency	Elected
Alli, Diana	Medicine	All the employees of the University,	E
Crocker, Diane	UTM	University College, the constituent	
Ruppert, L. Paul	Applied Science and Engineering (Civil)	colleges and the federated universities who are not members of the teaching	
Wheeler, Donna	Arts & Science (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)	staff	

Academic Board Election Results: Teaching Staff and Librarians April 9, 2009

	Acclaimed Teaching Staff			
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation			
Andrade, Maydianne	UTSC (Biological Sciences)			
Bhatt, Parth	Arts & Science (French)			
Carleton, Terry	Forestry			
Cluett, William R.	Applied Science & Engineering (Chemical Engineering)			
Cumming, Alister	OISE (Curriculum, Teaching and Learning)			
Edwards, Darryl	Music			
Gotlieb, Avrum I.	Medicine (Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology)			
Keith, Alison	Arts & Science (Classics)			
Koenig-Woodyard, Chris	UTM (English and Drama)			
Lai, Jim	Dentistry			
Lavack, Lesley	Pharmacy			
Melino, Angelo	Arts & Science (Economics)			
Murphy, Michelle	Arts & Science (History)			
Rappolt, Susan	Medicine (Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy)			
Rowe, Locke	Arts & Science (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)			
Wasylenki, Donald A.	Medicine (Psychiatry)			

Elected Librarian			
Candidate	Faculty/College/Division Affiliation	Elected	
Horne, Bonnie	Gerstein Science Information Centre	E	
Mavrinac, Mary Ann	UTM Library		