# UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

# THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

# **REPORT 149 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE**

#### **December 1, 2008**

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Monday, December 1, 2008, at 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room, Room 229, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Brian Corman (In the Chair)
	Professor Ragnar Buchweitz
	Professor Avrum Gotlieb Chair, Planning and Budget Committee
	Professor Cheryl Misak, Interim Vice-President and Provost
	Professor Rick Halpern
	Professor Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost, Academic
	Ms Pamela Santora
	Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary
Regrets:	Professor Michael Marrus
	Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak
In Attendance:	Ms Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, Office of the Vice- President and Provost
	Professor Douglas McDougall, Vice-Chair, Committee on Academic Policy and Programs
	Ms Linda Vranic, Director, Operations, Office of the Vice-President, Research and Associate Provost

# 1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 148 of the meeting held on November 12, 2008 was approved.

## 2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the report of the previous meeting.

### 3. Academic Board Agenda – Monday, December 8, 2008

Members reviewed the agenda for the December 8th Academic Board meeting. Professor Misak indicated that her report would include an update on the impact of the economic decline on the University. It was anticipated that this topic would generate much discussion among Board members.

The Chair said that the Board would receive for information the Semi-Annual Report of the Academic Appeals Committee (AAC). When this report of individual cases had been presented to the Board one year ago, a suggestion had been made to invite one of the Chairs of the AAC to attend future Board meetings to respond to any questions about the report that might arise. Members of the Agenda Committee were in agreement with the suggestion and requested that the

## 3. Academic Board Agenda – Monday, December 8, 2008 (cont'd)

Secretary ask Ms Kate Hilton to attend the meeting of December 8<sup>th</sup>. Ms Hilton had served as Chair during the hearings of two cases that would be included in the Fall 2008 package of AAC reports. The Chair noted that while members of the Academic Board would not be permitted to question the decisions made by the AAC, they could raise questions about the academic appeals process.

## 4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, January 27, 2009 at 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room.

#### 5. Other Business

There were no items of Other Business.

The Committee moved in camera.

#### 6. Tribunal Selection Committee

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the following individuals be appointed members of the 2008-2009 Tribunal Selection Committee:

Professor Mayo Moran, Chair and President's designate Professor Arthur Ripstein, teaching staff member of the Governing Council Ms Jacqueline Greenblatt, student member of the Academic Board Ms. Maureen Simpson, alumni member of the Academic Board

## 7. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

## **ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION**

Professor Normand Labrie	Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2015 (Re-appointment)
Professor Elizabeth Smyth	Acting Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010

# 7. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

# FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Department of Nutritional Sciences Professor Michael Archer	Chair and Graduate Chair January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2009 or until a new Chair is in place, which ever comes first (Extension)		
Department of Occupational Sciences and Occupational Therapy			
Professor Susan Rappolt	Chair and Graduate Chair		
	January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2013		

The Committee returned to open session.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Secretary December 2, 2008 Chair