UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 148 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

November 12, 2008

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Wednesday, November 12, 2008, at 4:00 p.m. in the Boardroom of the Office of the Vice-President, Research, Room 109, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Michael Marrus (Chair)
	Professor Brian Corman
	Professor Ragnar Buchweitz
	Professor Avrum Gotlieb Chair, Planning and Budget Committee
	Professor Cheryl Misak, Interim Vice-President and Provost
	Professor Rick Halpern
	Professor Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost, Academic
	Ms Pamela Santora
	Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary
Regrets:	Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak
In Attendance:	Ms Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, Office of the Vice- President and Provost Professor Douglas McDougall, Vice-Chair, Committee on Academic Policy
	and Programs

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 147 of the meeting held on September 23, 2008 was approved.

2. Business Arising

The Chair referred to Item 6, Reviews of Academic Programs and Units, in Report Number 147. He noted that, at the last meeting, the Committee had discussed whether or not the reviews of academic programs and units should be made public. It was the view of the Secretariat that the full program reviews were public documentation; they had been made available to the Committee on Academic Policy and Programs. If a request to view the full reviews were received by the Office of the Governing Council, the administrative responses would be provided along with the complete reviews.

3. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next meeting would be held on Monday, December 1, 2008 at 2:00 p.m. in the Forster Room.

4. Other Business

The Chair noted that since the Committee's last meeting of September 23, 2008, there had been need, because of time constraints, to consider three academic administrative appointments by means of an electronic ballot. He read the motion from the ballot, which had been approved by the Agenda Committee on October 23, 2008, into the record in order to note the approvals.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Professor Jun Nogami	Chair and Graduate Chair
	January 1, 2009 – December 31, 2013

FACTOR-INWENTASH FACULTY OF SOCIAL WORK

Ms. Andrea Litvack	Acting Associate Dean, Academic January 1, 2009 - June 30, 2009
Professor Charmaine Williams	Associate Dean, Academic July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2014

The Committee moved in camera.

5. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Meric Gertler	Dean
	December 1, 2008 to June 30, 2014

FACULTY OF MUSIC

Professor Russell Hartenberger	Dean
	December 1, 2008 to June 30, 2010

The Committee returned to open session.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.