#### Corrected

# **UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO**

# **COLLEGE OF ELECTORS**

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Thursday, April 3, 2008 at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Dr. Françoise Ko (In the Chair) Mr. Doug Allen (Architecture, Landscape, and Design) Dr. Lita-Rose Betcherman (SGS) Mr. Michael Branch (Engineering) Ms Ruhee Chaudhry (Community Health) Ms Ann Clarke (Scarborough) Professor Mary Condon (SGS) Dr. Don H. Cowan (Medicine) Mr. Chris Driscoll (St. Michael's) Dr. Inez Elliston (OISE) Ms Celeste Francis (Woodsworth) Mr. Pierre François (OISE) Ms Erica Henderson (UC) Ms Victoria Hurlihey (UC) Mr. Garry Kwan (Mississauga) Dr. Claire Mallette (Nursing) Ms Pamela McPherson (Victoria) Mr. Michael Meth (Information Studies)

#### **Regrets:**

Ms Noreen Calderbank (Engineering) Dr. Vic Chiasson (Innis) Professor Shashi Kant (Forestry)

Mr. Paul Morrison (Law) Mr. Peter Murchison (Social Work) Ms Florence Newman (Victoria) Mr. Lennox Phillips (Mississauga) Dr. Betty Power (OISE) Ms Linda Prytula, Pharmacy Mr. Devin S. Ragwen (Scarborough) Ms Barbara Salmon (Physiotherapy & Occupational Therapy) Mr. Gordon Shantz (Mississauga) Ms Maureen Simpson (Trinity) Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai (SGS) Ms Nancy Sutherland (Victoria) Mr. Colin Swift (New) Ms Liz Terry (OISE) Ms Maria Topalovich (Music) Mr. Jason Wong (UC) Mr. William Wrigley (Woodsworth)

Ms Patricia Robb (PE&H) Ms Ann Sullivan (St. Michael's) Ms Padma Tata (Engineering) Mr. Rajesh Uttamchandani (SGS) Dr. Ben Venditti (Dentistry)

Secretariat: Ms Mae-Yu Tan

The College met in camera to consider items 4, 5, and 6.

## 1. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – March 10, 2008

The minutes of the meeting of March 10, 2008 were approved.

# 2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the previous meeting.

#### 3. Review of the Voting Process and Procedures

The Chair reviewed the voting procedures, reminding members that, in order to vote, they had to be present for all the interviews.

On motion duly moved and seconded, the College moved in camera to interview the candidates.

### 4. Interviews of the Candidates

The College interviewed the candidates for alumni governors.

### 5. Discussion of the Candidates

The College had a full discussion of each of the candidates.

# 6. Election of the Alumni Members of the Governing Council

The following alumni were elected for a three-year term on the Governing Council, beginning July 1, 2008:

- Mr. Timothy Reid;
- Mr. John Stewart;
- Ms B. Elizabeth Vosburgh.

The College returned to open session.

# 7. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair informed members that the next meeting of the College would be held in the fall. Members would be advised as soon as the 2008-09 meeting schedule of the College had been set. The Chair asked continuing members to keep their binders for use in the following year.

#### 8. Other Business

# a) U of T Magazine Article

The Chair reported on a recent meeting with the Editor of the University of Toronto Magazine and the Executive Director, Alumni Relations. They had discussed ways of increasing awareness of the alumni governors and the nomination process and had agreed to feature an article on alumni governor, Jackie Orange, in the Fall 2008 issue of the U of T Magazine.

#### b) Co-opted Application Process

The Chair asked members to encourage qualified alumni to submit an application form to serve as a co-opted member of the Academic Board or the University Affairs Board in 2008-2009. The online application deadline was Thursday, April 10, 2008 by 5:00 p.m.

#### c) Recognition of Members

The Chair thanked the members of the Executive Committee for their work this past year:

Dr. Betty Power, Vice Chair Ms Ann Clarke Mr. Lennox Phillips Mr. Colin Swift

# 8. Other Business (cont'd)

### c) Recognition of Members (cont'd)

The Chair also acknowledged those members whose terms were ending on June 30, 2008:

Mr. Michael Branch (Engineering) Ms Noreen Calderbank (Engineering) Ms Maureen Simpson (Trinity) Dr. Ben Venditti (Dentistry)

### d) Membership of the College of Electors for 2008-09

The Chair advised members that she and the Secretary of the College would be working with staff in alumni affairs and divisional alumni association representatives to ensure that the membership of the College of Electors was complete for 2008-09.

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

August 26, 2008