UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 144 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

April 9, 2008

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Wednesday, April 9, 2008, at 2:00 p.m. in the Falconer Room, Room 102, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Michael Marrus (In the Chair) Professor Brian Corman Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost Professor Clare Beghtol Professor Rick Halpern Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak, Chair, Committee on Academic Policy and Programs
	Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary
Regrets:	Professor Avrum Gotlieb Professor Edith Hillan Mr. James Janeiro
In Attendance:	 Professor Miriam Diamond, Vice-Chair, Planning and Budget Committee Ms Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, Office of the Vice- President and Provost Professor Cheryl Misak, Deputy Provost Ms Linda Vranic, Director, Operations, Office of the Vice-President, Research and Associate Provost

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 143 of the meeting held on February 28, 2008 was approved.

2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the report of the previous meeting.

3. Academic Board Agenda – Thursday, April 24, 2008

Members reviewed the agenda for the April 24th Academic Board meeting.

There was a brief discussion of the need to balance a full discussion of the Board's agenda items with concerns to meet the time constraints of the meeting. The Chair undertook to continue to monitor how well this balance was struck. On the very significant case of the Budget Report, while the report of the Planning and Budget Committee had been provided for information to the Board, members could be encouraged to attend its meetings if they wished to hear a more detailed discussion of the issues. In some instances, at the invitation of the Committee Chair, Board members might also be able to participate in debate, raising points of their own. Feedback on this

3. Academic Board Agenda – Thursday, April 24, 2008 (cont'd)

issue was always encouraged. As well, the broader issue of opportunities to engage larger issues at Boards and Committees was under review in the *Towards 2030* planning exercise.

4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that Wednesday, April 23, 2008 at 2:00 p.m. was being held as a reserve meeting date. The Secretary would notify members if there was no need for the meeting.

5. Other Business

The Chair noted that the Committee had approved an academic administrative appointment to the Faculty of Medicine at the last meeting of February 28, 2008. At the request of the appointee, the details had not been reported at that time. The Chair read the approved motion into the record in order to officially record the approvals.

On motion duly moved and seconded

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Department of Public Health Sciences

Professor Jack Mandel	Chair and Graduate Chair
	September 1, 2008 to August 31, 2013

School of Public Health (pending approval)

Professor Jack Mandel Director September 1, 2008 to August 31, 2013

The Committee moved in camera.

6. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved and seconded

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Department of Chemistry	
Professor Scott Mabury	Chair
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2012 (Re-appointment)
Department of English	
Professor Alan Bewell	Chair

well	Chair
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE (cont'd)

Department of Geology

Professor Richard Bailey	Acting Chair and Acting Graduate Chair
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009

Women and Gender Studies Institute

Professor Bonnie McElhinny	Director
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2011

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION

Professor Glen Jones	Acting Dean January 1, 2009 to June 30, 2009
Professor Dennis Thiessen	Acting Associate Dean, Academic January 1, 2009 to June 30, 2009

Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning

Professor Tara Goldstein	Chair and Graduate Chair
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2011

FACULTY OF PHYSICAL EDUCATION AND HEALTH

Professor Bruce Kidd	Dean
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2010 (Extension)

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

<u>Centre of Criminology</u>	
Professor Mariana Valverde	Director July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT MISSISSAUGA

Professor Amrita Daniere	Vice-Dean, Graduate July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2014
Professor Alison Fleming	Acting Vice-Principal, Research July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009
Professor Ulli Krull	Vice-Principal, Research January 1, 2008 to June 30, 2011 (Re-appointment)
Professor Jack Sidnell	Interim Vice-Dean, Graduate July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009

Department of Economics

Professor Varouj Aivazian	Chair
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2014 (Re-appointment)

6. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT MISSISSAUGA (cont'd)

Department of English and Drama

Professor Leslie Thomson	Chair July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2012 (Re-appointment)
Professor Nancy Copeland	Acting Chair July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009
Department of Mathematical and Computational Sciences	
Professor Konstantin Khanin	Chair July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

Department of Sociology

Professor Kelly Hannah-Moffat Chair July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

The Committee returned to open session.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:50 p.m.

Secretary April 14, 2008 Chair