

University of Toronto TORONTO ONTARIO M5S 1A1

GOVERNING COUNCIL SECRETARIAT

Voice: (416) 978-8794 Fax: (416) 978-8182 F-mail[.] bev stefureak@utoronto.ca Web: <u>http://www.utoronto.ca/govcncl/</u>

#9

CONFIDENTIAL

MEMORANDUM

- TO: Members of the University Affairs Board
- DATE: January 8, 2002

SUBJECT: Report of the Striking Committee

The 2002 Striking Committee of the University Affairs Board was informed that Mr. Fayez Quereshy would be ineligible to complete his term on the Board following an automobile accident that necessitated a medical leave of absence from student status for the remainder of the 2001-02 academic year. The Committee reviewed the slate of nominations received for the 2001-02 student seats on the Board.

The Committee is pleased to recommend that Mr. Vivek Krishnamurthy be approved as a co-opted student member to complete the term of Mr. Fayez Quereshy to June 30, 2002.

Members of the 2002-03 Striking Committee:

Dr. John Nestor, Chair Ms. Aisling Burke Dr. Shari Graham Fell Professor Ian McDonald Ms. Parissa Safai