UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 140 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

October 31, 2007

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Wednesday, October 31, 2007, at 2:00 p.m. in the Falconer Room, Room 102, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Michael Marrus (In the Chair)
	Professor Brian Corman
	Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost
	Professor Clare Beghtol
	Professor Rick Halpern
	Professor Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost, Academic
	Mr. James Janeiro
	Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak, Chair, Committee on Academic Policy and
	Programs
	Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Professor Avrum Gotlieb

In Attendance: Ms Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, Office of the Vice-President and Provost

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 139 of the meeting held on September 17, 2007 was approved.

2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the report of the previous meeting.

3. Academic Board Agenda – Thursday, November 8, 2007

Members reviewed the agenda for the November 8th Academic Board meeting. Professor Goel indicated that his report would include the *Towards 2030* initiative, and comments on the impact of the provincial election results on the University.

The committee reviewed guests for the agenda item concerning the project planning report for the UTM Medical Academy.

4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, December 4, 2007 at 2:00 p.m.

5. Other Business

The Chair noted for the record that the following academic administrative appointment had been approved by the Agenda Committee by means of an electronic ballot:

On motion duly moved and seconded

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT Professor Russell Hartenberger be appointed Interim Dean, Faculty of Music, for a term beginning October 15, 2007 to June 30, 2008 or until appointment of a new Dean.

The Committee moved in camera.

6. Tribunal Selection Committee

On motion duly moved and seconded

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following membership of the Tribunal Selection Committee for 2007-08:

Professor Mayo Moran, President's designate and Chair Mr. Alex Kenjeev, student Ms. Maureen Somerville, lay member Professor Lorne Sossin, Faculty of Law, teaching staff

7. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved and seconded

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Prof. Doug Perovic	Chair and Graduate Chair January 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008 (Extension)
FACULTY OF MEDICINE	
Prof. Patricia Brubaker	Acting Vice-Dean Research and International Relations January 1, 2008 to March 31, 2008
Department of Biochemistry Prof. Reinhart Reithmeier	Chair and Graduate Chair January 1, 2008 to June 30, 2011 (Re-appointment)

7. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

Prof. Patrick Gullane	Chair
	January 1, 2008 to June 30, 2012 (Re-appointment)

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION/UT

Dr. Kathryn Broad	Acting Associate Dean, Teacher Education
	November 1, 2007 to December 31, 2007 (Extension)

LESLIE DAN FACULTY OF PHARMACY

Prof. Reina Bendayan	Associate Dean Graduate Education
	October 1, 2007 to June 30, 2010

FACTOR-INWENTASH FACULTY OF SOCIAL WORK

Prof. Faye Mishna	Associate Dean Research
	November 1, 2007 to June 30, 2011

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT MISSISSAUGA

Department of Mathematical and Computational SciencesProf. Gordon Scott GrahamInterim Chair

January 1, 2008 – June 30, 2008

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Centre of Criminology

Prof. Mariana Valverde

Interim Director October 2, 2007 to June 30, 2008

The Committee returned to open session.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:50 p.m.

Secretary November 6, 2007 Chair