UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

Thursday, May 11, 2006

MINUTES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL special *in camera* meeting held on Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Ms Rose M. Patten (In the Chair) Mr. John F. (Jack) Petch, Vice-Chair Professor C. David Naylor, President Ms Holly Andrews-Taylor Dr. Robert M. Bennett Professor Philip H. Byer Mr. Ryan Matthew Campbell Professor Brian Corman Professor W. Raymond Cummins Miss Coralie D'Souza Mr. Brian Davis The Honourable William G. Davis Ms Susan Eng Dr. Shari Graham Fell Mr. Ran Goel Professor Vivek Goel Mr. Joseph Mapa Professor Michael R. Marrus

Mr. Geoffrey Matus Ms Florence Minz Ms Jacqueline C. Orange The Honourable Vivienne Poy Mr. Timothy Reid Professor Arthur S. Ripstein Miss Maureen J. Somerville Mr. Mahadeo Sukhai Ms B. Elizabeth Vosburgh Mr. Robert S. Weiss Mr. Louis R. Charpentier, Secretary of the Governing Council

Secretariat: Mr. Andrew Drummond Mr. Henry Mulhall Ms Cristina Oke, Secretary

Absent:	Professor Ian R. McDonald
Mr. Husain Aboghodieh	Professor Linda McGillis Hall
Mr. Navine K. Aggarwal	Mr. George E. Myhal
Professor Pamela Catton	Mr. Richard Nunn
Mr. Shaun Chen	Professor Ian Orchard
Mr. P.C. Choo	The Honourable David R. Peterson
Dr. Claude S. Davis	Ms Marvi H. Ricker
Dr. Alice Dong	Professor Barbara Sherwood Lollar
Dr. Gerald Halbert	Mr. Stephen C. Smith
Professor Glen A. Jones	Professor John Wedge
Dr. Joel A. Kirsh	Mr. W. David Wilson

1. Appointment of the Vice-President, University Relations

On motion duly made and seconded

It was Resolved

THAT the position of Vice-President, University Relations be established; and

THAT Ms Judith Wolfson be appointed to the position of Vice-President, University Relations, effective July 15, 2006.

The meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Secretary

June 5, 2006

Chair