

University of Toronto Toronto Ontario M5S 1A1

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

March 27, 2007

Memorandum to: Members of Governing Council, Academic Board, Business Board and University Affairs

Board

Candidates in the Governing Council and Academic Board Elections

I have enclosed the results of the 2007 Governing Council and Academic Board Elections.

Governing Council Elections

Ballots for the election of a **teaching staff** member in **Governing Council Constituency IC** (Faculty of Arts and Science: Departments of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Cell and Systems Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Geology, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics and Actuarial Science) have been verified and counted. Professor Ronald Kluger received the greatest number of votes and was declared the winner of the election.

Ballots for the election of a member of the **administrative staff** to the Governing Council have also been verified and counted. Mr. P.C. Choo received the greatest number of votes and was declared the winner of the election.

Voting in the **full-time undergraduate student** election ended on March 9, 2007 and the deadline for filing an intention to appeal has passed. Ms Saswati Deb and Mr. Alex Rascanu had the greatest number of votes and were declared the winners of the election on March 12, 2007.

Voting in the **graduate student** elections also ended on March 9, 2007 and the deadline for filing an intention to appeal has passed. Mr. Alex Kenjeev had the greatest number of votes in **Constituency I** and was declared the winner of the election on March 12, 2007. Mr. Arya Ghadimi had the greatest number of votes in **Constituency II** and was also declared the winner of the election on March 12, 2007.

Academic Board Elections

Ballots for the election of a **teaching staff** member of the Academic Board from the **University of Toronto at Mississauga** have been verified and counted. Dr. Judith Poë received the greatest number of votes and was declared the winner of the election.

Please join me in congratulating and thanking all of the candidates who participated in this year's elections.

Re-Opening of Nominations for Academic Board

Nominations for Academic Board seats for which no nominations were received will **re-open at 12:00 noon on Monday, April 2, 2007 and close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday April 13, 2007**. Nomination forms will be available beginning on April 2, 2007 from the Office of the Governing Council or on-line from the elections website: http://www.utoronto.ca/govcncl/elections/

Anthony Gray Chief Returning Officer

Candidates for Governing Council Elections 2007

Administrative Staff

1 seat P. C. Choo 582 elected

Rhain Louis 149 Chris McGrath 320

Valid Ballots Cast: 1051 Spoiled Ballots: 3 Constituency Size: 6063

Teaching Staff

Constituency IC 1 seat J. J. Berry Smith 22

Ronald Kluger 35 elected

Valid Ballots Cast: <u>57</u> Spoiled Ballots: <u>1</u> Constituency Size: 319

Constituency IV 1 seat Doug Reeve acclaimed

Constituency V 2 seats Joel Kirsh acclaimed

Sarita Verma acclaimed

Students

Full-time Undergraduate

Constituency I 2 seats Saswati Deb (Victoria) 1622 elected

Alanna Prasad (New) 427

Alex Rascanu (UTSC) 1149 elected

Grahame Rivers (Woodsworth) 916
Josh Rubin (Victoria) 331
Wendy Shen (Victoria) 638
Paulina Staszuk (Woodsworth) withdrew

Valid Ballots Cast: <u>5083</u> Spoiled Ballots: <u>27</u> Constituency Size: <u>40808</u>

Constituency II 2 seats Lorenza Sisca (PEH) acclaimed Yang Weng (Engineering) acclaimed

Part-time Undergraduate

Constituency I 2 seats Ken Davy (Woodsworth) acclaimed

Estefania Toledo (Innis) acclaimed

Graduate

Constituency I 1 seat Alex Kenjeev (Management) 145 elected

Smita Kothari (Religion) 59 Olivier Sorin (French Literature) 113

Valid Ballots Cast: 317 Spoiled Ballots: 1 Constituency Size: 6271

Constituency II 1 seat Trevor Clark (Mathematics) 18

Arya Ghadimi (Chemistry) 73 elected

Anton Neschadim (Medical Biophysics) 53

Valid Ballots Cast: <u>144</u> Spoiled Ballots: <u>2</u> Constituency Size: <u>5985</u>

Candidates for Academic Board Elections 2007

<u>Applied Science and Engineering</u> 3 seats, 1 of which is open

J. Stewart Aitchison acclaimed

Arts and Science 14 seats, 5 of which are open

Elizabeth Cowper acclaimed
Miriam Diamond acclaimed
Robert Gibbs acclaimed
Hy van Luong acclaimed
Linda Northrup acclaimed

<u>Architecture, Landscape and Design</u> 1 seat, which is open

No nominations received re-open

Management 1 seat, which is open

Wendy Rotenberg acclaimed

Medicine 11 seats, 4 of which are open

Audrey LaporteacclaimedCindy WoodlandacclaimedCharles Deberacclaimed1 seat remains openre-open

OISE/UT 3 seats, 1 of which is open

Njoki Wane acclaimed

Physical Education and Health 1 seat, which is open

Guy Faulkner acclaimed

Social Work 1 seat, which is open

Faye Mishna acclaimed

<u>University of Toronto at Mississauga</u> 3 seats, 1 of which is open

Charles Elkabas 19

Judith Poë 40 elected

Valid Ballots Cast: 59 Spoiled Ballots: 1 Constituency Size: 393

<u>University of Toronto at Scarborough</u> 3 seats, 1 of which is open

No nominations received re-open

March 27, 2007