

_ _

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

FOR INFORMATION PUBLIC OPEN SESSION

TO:	Academic Board
SPONSOR: CONTACT INFO:	Professor Meric Gertler, President 416.978.4163; <u>president@utoronto.ca</u>
PRESENTER: CONTACT INFO:	Professor Trevor Young, Vice-President & Provost 416.978.2122; <u>provost@utoronto.ca</u>
DATE:	April 8, 2025 for April 24, 2025
AGENDA ITEM:	6

ITEM IDENTIFICATION:

Selection Committee: University Professors, 2024-2025

.

JURISDICTIONAL INFORMATION:

Under section 4 of the Terms of Reference, the Board has authority over "matters arising in connection with the award of fellowships, scholarships, medals, prizes and other awards for academic achievement." Under section 5 of the Academic Board's Terms of Reference, the Board has responsibility for awards.

Under the <u>Selection Procedures for University Professors</u>, the candidates for promotion to the rank of University Professor are determined by a process of nomination and selection by a Committee chaired by the Vice-President & Provost.

The recommendations are submitted to the Academic Board for approval.

GOVERNANCE PATH:

1. Academic Board [For Information] (April 24, 2025)

PREVIOUS ACTION TAKEN:

The membership of the University Professors Selection Committee for 2023-2024 was submitted to Academic Board on April 18, 2024.

HIGHLIGHTS:

As per the Policies and Procedures on Academic Appointments, the designation of University Professor recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge. The number of such appointments does not typically exceed two per cent of the University of Toronto tenured faculty members, underlining the highly prestigious nature of the rank.

In adherence with the <u>Selection Procedures for University Professors</u>, and the approval of the President, the Provost formed a Selection Committee consisting of six internal University of Toronto members and two external members from other universities. The composition of the Committee is made up of distinguished scholars (including six University Professors) representing a broad spectrum of disciplines.

President Gertler fully supports the membership of the University Professors Selection Committee and therefore the Provost is submitting this Committee to Academic Board for information.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS:

University Professors receive a grant in the amount of \$10,000 per annum for the first five years of the appointment.

DOCUMENTATION PROVIDED:

• Letter to the Chair of Academic Board



Office of the Vice-President & Provost

FOR INFORMATION Academic Board – April 24, 2025

April 8, 2025

Professor Douglas E. McDougall Chair, Academic Board

Dear Professor McDougall,

I am pleased to report to the Academic Board the membership of the University Professors Selection Committee for 2024-25. The members are:

- Professor Trevor Young, Vice-President and Provost (Chair)
- Jacques Beauvais, Provost and Vice-President, Academic Affairs, University of Ottawa
- Diane Hiebert-Murphy, Provost and Vice-President (Academic), University of Manitoba
- University Professor Cristina Amon, Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
- University Professor Maydianne Andrade, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Toronto Scarborough
- University Professor Dan Breznitz, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy, Faculty of Arts & Science
- University Professor Ran Hirschl, Department of Political Science, Faculty of Arts and Science
- University Professor Alison Keith, Department of Classics, Faculty of Arts and Science
- University Professor Arthur Ripstein, Faculty of Law

Sincerely,

Trevor Young Vice-President and Provost