



FOR INFORMATION

CONFIDENTIAL

OPEN SESSION

TO:	Academic Board
SPONSOR:	Professor Meric Gertler,
CONTACT INFO:	President University of Toronto

	416.978.4163; president@utoronto.ca
PRESENTER:	Professor Trevor Young, Vice-President &
CONTACT INFO:	Provost University of Toronto

- 416.978.2122; provost@utoronto.ca
- DATE: February 25, 2025 for March 6, 2025
- AGENDA ITEM: 10

ITEM IDENTIFICATION:

Selection Committee: President's Teaching Award, 2024-2025

JURISDICTIONAL INFORMATION:

Under section 4 of the Terms of Reference, the Board has authority over "matters arising in connection with the award of fellowships, scholarships, medals, prizes and other awards for academic achievement." Under section 5 of the Academic Board's Terms of Reference, the Board has responsibility for awards.

GOVERNANCE PATH:

1. Academic Board [For Information] (March 6, 2025)

PREVIOUS ACTION TAKEN:

The membership of the President's Teaching Award Selection Committee for 2023-2024 was submitted to Academic Board on March 7, 2024.

HIGHLIGHTS:

The University-wide President's Teaching Award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching and significant contributions in educational leadership.

The Provost formed a Selection Committee consisting of six internal University of Toronto members and one external member from another university. The composition of the Committee is made up of distinguished faculty members with outstanding teaching profiles in a broad spectrum of disciplines, including previous recipients of the President's Teaching Award.

President Gertler fully supports the membership of the Selection Committee and therefore the Provost is submitting this Committee to Academic Board for information.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS:

President's Teaching Award recipients receive a grant in the amount of \$10,000 for each of the five years of the appointment to the President's Teaching Academy.

DOCUMENTATION PROVIDED:

• Letter to the Chair of Academic Board



OFFICE OF THE VICE PRESIDENT & PROVOST

FOR INFORMATION Academic Board – March 6, 2025

February 18, 2025

Professor Douglas McDougall Chair, Academic Board

Dear Professor McDougall,

I am pleased to report to the Academic Board the membership of the President's Teaching Award Selection Committee for 2024-25. The members are:

- Trevor Young, Vice-President & Provost (Chair)
- Susan Lewis, Vice-Provost, Academic Programs, Western University*
- Alison Gibbs, Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Statistical Sciences, Faculty of Arts & Science; and Director, Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation (CTSI)*
- **Susan McCahan**, Associate Vice-President and Vice-Provost, Digital Strategies; and Vice-Provost, Innovations in Undergraduate Education*
- Sharon Switzer-McIntyre, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Physical Therapy, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
- Franco Taverna, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Human Biology Program, Faculty of Arts & Science
- Njoki Wane, Professor and Chair, Social Justice Education, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)**

*Member of 2023-24 Selection Committee **Member of 2022-23 Selection Committee

Sincerely,

Trevor Young Vice-President and Provost