

FOR PUBLIC INFORMATION

TO: Executive Committee

SPONSOR: Cindy Ferencz-Hammond, Secretary, Committee On Namings

CONTACT INFO: cindy.ferencz@utoronto.ca

PRESENTER: N/A

CONTACT INFO:

DATE: January 6, 2025

ITEM IDENTIFICATION:

Report Number 32 on Namings

JURISDICTIONAL INFORMATION:

The University's Policy on Naming stipulates that, among other things, approval is required for the naming of buildings or substantial parts of buildings, endowed programs of research, teaching, service or recreation, endowed chairs and professorships. Approval of such namings is delegated to a committee composed of the Chair and Vice-Chair of Governing Council and the President, with the Chair retaining the responsibility for referring any contentious matters to the Executive Committee. The President may approve the names of things such as visiting lectureships, special lecture series, individual rooms, walkways, etc.

Section 5.13 of the Terms of Reference for the Executive Committee states that the Committee reviews by means of electronic publication a semi-annual report of all namings approved by the Committee on Namings and by the President, under the Policy on Naming.

GOVERNANCE PATH:

1. Executive Committee [For Information]

PREVIOUS ACTION TAKEN:

The Report on Namings (Number 31) was made available for information to the Executive Committee on October 4, 2024, through electronic publication on the Committee's website.

HIGHLIGHTS:

The report covers the six-month period, dated July 1, 2024 until December 31, 2024.

DOCUMENTATION PROVIDED:

Report Number 32 on Namings

Report Number 32 on Namings (July 1, 2024 – December 31, 2024)

a) Approved by the Committee on Namings

- i) Namings
- Donald R. Crawshaw Chair in Private Law
- Irving and Rosalie Abella Chair in Justice and Equality
- Kerr Chair in Interventional Psychiatry
- Mitchell J. Gerstein Distinguished Visiting Artist Program in Social Justice and Jewish Life
- Myron and Berna Garron Health Sciences Complex
- Paul Albrechtsen Chair in Cardiology
- Slamen-Fast Chair in Neurology

b) Approved by the President

- Ron Tepper Professorship in Thoracic Surgery Education
- BMO Chair in Anti-Racism and Health Equity
- Garron Family Chair in Education
- Dalglish Chair in 22q11.2 Deletion Syndrome
- Architecture of Health: The Annual Zeidler-Evans Lecture
- Professorship in Prostate Cancer Research at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
- Sara Jackman Playground
- Dr. Anoop Sayal 9T2, Anita Sayal, [simulation station, 124 Edward Street, Faculty of Dentistry)
- Rose Patten Rotunda