OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

่ล



| To: | Faculty, Staff, Students and Alumni, University of Toronto Mississauga |
|-------|---|
| | Governing Council |
| | Academic Board |
| | Business Board |
| | University Affairs Board |
| | UTM Campus Council |
| | UTSC Campus Council |
| | Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs |
| | Professional and Managerial Staff |
| | Confidential Staff |
| | President of UTFA |
| | Presidents of Employee Unions |
| | Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU |
| From: | Professor Meric Gertler, President |
| | Professor Trevor Young, Vice-President and Provost |
| Date: | Friday, December 6, 2024 |
| Re: | Call for Nominations for the Advisory Committee on the Appointment of Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga |

On May 14, 2020, the Governing Council approved the <u>appointment of Professor Alexandra</u> <u>Gillespie</u> as Vice-President, University of Toronto and Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga, for a five-year term effective July 1, 2020, to December 31, 2025 (including a six-month administrative leave). Professor Gillespie is eligible for reappointment.

In accordance with Section 62 (b) of the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, we are writing to call for nominations of individuals to serve on the committee that will advise on the appointment of a Vice-President and Principal.

The *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators* mandates the potential composition of the advisory committee as follows:

• The President (Co-Chair)

UNIVERSITY OF

- The Vice-President and Provost (Co-Chair)
- The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative
- Three to five members of the teaching staff of the campus
- One to three students of the campus
- A librarian, where appropriate

- Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside the campus
- In addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a qualified individual from outside the University.

Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, will serve as secretary to the Committee.

The Committee's first task will be to undertake a review and advise on priorities that should be considered for the Vice-President and Principal. Given that Professor Gillespie is eligible to be re-appointed, the Committee will also consider whether to recommend her reappointment.

Nominations for membership on the Advisory Committee should be sent by *5:00 p.m. on Friday, December 20, 2024,* using the confidential online form available at: https://forms.office.com/r/5Sz2Qfu4ry.

Questions should be directed to the Secretary at <u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u> or 416-978-2118.