## OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT



Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS President

Memorandum to:	<ul> <li>Faculty, Students, and Staff, University of Toronto Scarborough</li> <li>Governing Council</li> <li>Academic Board</li> <li>Business Board</li> <li>University Affairs Board</li> <li>UTM Campus Council</li> <li>UTSC Campus Council</li> <li>Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs</li> <li>Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff</li> <li>President of UTFA</li> <li>Presidents of Employee Unions</li> <li>Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU</li> </ul>
From:	Professor Meric Gertler, President Professor Trevor Young, Vice-President and Provost
Date:	May 17, 2024
Re:	Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC)

On April 16, 2024, it was <u>announced</u> that Professor Wisdom Tettey has been appointed as the next President and Vice-Chancellor of Carleton University. Professor Linda Johnston is currently serving as the <u>Acting Vice-President and Principal, UTSC</u>, as Professor Tettey is on administrative leave.

Following a <u>call for nominations</u>, I am pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee on the appointment of a Vice-President and Principal, UTSC, which I will co-chair with Vice-President and Provost Trevor Young, is as follows:

Professor Meric Gertler, President (Co-Chair)

Professor Trevor Young, Vice-President and Provost (Co-Chair)

Professor Aarthi Ashok, Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Biological Sciences, UTSC

Ms Desma Charlemagne-Michel, Executive Director, Human Resource Services, UTSC

- Professor Sotirios Damouras, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Computer and Mathematical Sciences, UTSC and teaching staff member of the Governing Council
- Professor Barry Freeman, Associate Professor, Theatre and Performance, Department of Arts, Culture & Media, UTSC and Centre for Drama, Theatre & Performance Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Professor Vina Goghari, Vice-Dean, Research and Program Innovation, School of Graduate Studies and Professor, Department of Psychology, UTSC
- Mr. David Graham, President and CEO, Scarborough Health Network
- Ms Angela Hamilton, Chief Librarian, UTSC
- Ms Esther Levine, full-time undergraduate student, UTSC
- Professor Alison Mountz, Acting Vice-Principal, Research & Innovation, UTSC and Professor, Department of Human Geography, UTSC and Graduate Faculty, Department of Geography & Planning, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Professor Nicholas Rule, Vice-Principal, Academic and Dean, University of Toronto Mississauga and Professor of Psychology, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Professor Nicholas Spence, Assistant Professor, Department of Health & Society (UTSC), Department of Sociology (UTSC), Department of Sociology (Faculty of Arts and Science and Graduate Faculty), Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences (UTSC)
- Professor Tamara Trojanowska, Vice-Dean, Faculty and Academic Life and Associate Professor, Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Ms Grace Westcott, alumni member of the Governing Council and Chair, UTSC Campus Council
- Dr. Nadina Jamison, Chief Strategy Officer (ex officio, non-voting member)
- A graduate student member is still to be confirmed.

The Advisory Committee will begin its work immediately. The Committee's first task will be to consider an extension to Professor Johnston's appointment.

The Advisory Committee welcomes comments and advice. These should be submitted using the confidential online form available at: <u>https://uoft.me/UTSCVPPAdvice</u> by **Friday**, **May 24**, **2024**.

Questions should be directed to the Secretary at <u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u> or 416-978-2118.