

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

Memorandum to:	Governing Council Academic Board Business Board University Affairs Board Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff President of UTFA Presidents of Employee Unions Presidents of APUS, GSU, SAC and SCSU President of UTAA Chairman of PIAC
From:	Rose M. Patten Chair of the Governing Council
Date:	April 26, 2005
Re:	Transition Arrangements Appointment of Acting President

Earlier today, we announced that Professor C. David Naylor has been appointed President of the University of Toronto, effective October 1, 2005. Our Interim President's term ends on June 30, however. In order to provide continuity in leadership prior to the President-designate taking office, the Governing Council has also appointed our Vice-President and Provost, Vivek Goel, to serve as Acting President from July 1 to September 30. We are extremely grateful to him for taking on this very important responsibility for that transition period.

As of the beginning of September, Dean Naylor will be active full-time as President-designate, working closely with the Acting President and the rest of the senior administrative team to become completely engaged with the duties of the President. I would also like to express my thanks again to The Honourable Frank Iacobucci who has committed to ongoing availability after June 30 to assist in the transition period as Special Advisor to the Office of the President.

I am confident that these arrangements will ensure a smooth transition in the University's leadership.