

## OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS President

10:	Governing Council Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	UTM Campus Council
	UTSC Campus Council
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs
	Professionals and Managerial Staff
	Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU
	President, University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA)
From:	Professor Meric Gertler, President
Date:	February 24, 2023
Re:	President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President and Provost

On January 11, 2023, I <u>announced</u> that Professor Cheryl Regehr would be stepping down as Vice-President and Provost effective December 31, 2023.

Following a <u>call for nominations</u>, I am pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee, which I will chair, is as follows:

- Mr. Larry Alford, University Chief Librarian
- Professor Jutta Brunnée, Dean, Faculty of Law
- Professor Amrita Daniere, Interim Vice-Principal (Academic) and Dean, University of Toronto Mississauga
- Ms Annabelle Dravid, full-time undergraduate student, UTSC and full-time undergraduate student member of the Governing Council
- Professor Ramin Farnood, Chair, Department of Chemical and Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- Mr. Paul Huyer, alumni member of the Governing Council
- Ms Anna Kennedy, Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council member of the Governing Council
- Professor Katherine Larson, Vice-Dean, Teaching, Learning and Undergraduate Programs, University of Toronto Scarborough
- Mr. Jeff Lennon, Assistant Vice-President, Planning and Budget

- Professor Lisa Robinson, Vice-Dean, Strategy and Operations, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
- Mr. Peter Serles, doctoral candidate, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- Professor Charmaine Williams, Dean, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
- Professor Melanie Woodin, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Dr. Nadina Jamison, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the President (non-voting, ex officio)

In addition, following a formal Request for Proposals and a robust selection process, we have engaged the firm of Odgers Berndtson to assist the Advisory Committee in its work.

The Advisory Committee is interested in receiving advice on priorities that the Committee should consider for the mandate for the next Vice-President and Provost and qualities that should be sought in the next Vice-President to ensure execution of the mandate. Submissions should be sent by **5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 17, 2023,** using the online form available at <a href="https://uoft.me/VPPAdvice2023">https://uoft.me/VPPAdvice2023</a>. Responses will be confidential to the Committee. Comments may also be submitted in confidence to our consulting team at Odgers Berndtson, at <a href="https://uoftprovost@odgersberndtson.com">uoftprovost@odgersberndtson.com</a> by the same deadline.

Following input on mandate and qualities, a call for nominations/applications and a position profile will be distributed.

Questions should be directed to Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, (<u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u>)