

Ombuds Appointments: Office of the Ombudsperson, University of Toronto

1975
Establishment
of the Office of
the
Ombudsman at
16 Hart House
Circle.

1981 Ms Liz Hoffman appointed as Ombudsman (Terms: 1981-1995; 1995-1998). 1997 Ms Irene Birrell appointed as Acting Ombudsperso n (Term: 1997-1998). 2006 Professor Ian McDonald appointed as Interim Ombudsperson (Term: 2006-2007). 2015
Professor
Emeritus Ellen
Hodnett
appointed as
Ombudsperson
(Terms: 20152018; 2018-2019;
2019-2021).



















1975 Professor Eric A. McKee appointed as inaugural Ombudsman (Term: 1975-1981).

1990
The University
Affairs Board
approves title
change from
'Ombudsman' to
'Ombudsperson.'

1998 Ms Mary Ward appointed as Ombudsperson. (Terms: 1998-2001; 2001-2006)

Professor
Emeritus Joan
Foley appointed
as Ombudsperson
(Terms: 20072010; 2010-2013;
2013-2015).

Professor Emeritus
Bruce Kidd
appointed as
Ombudsperson
(Term: 2021 ongoing).